We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I found this a great base for a short walking holiday. It is right next to the Templer Way which follows the route of the tramway / canal used for transporting granite and china clay from Haytor to Teignmouth in times gone by, also taking in Stover Country Park. The hotel itself is full of character and the food and staff great as mentioned by other reviewers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

thank you for your review.It is very interesting the Templars way and the project on the stover Canal.Hope to see you again in the future..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 340 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is the first time I've been so well looked after that I've thought to leave a review on TripAdvisor. The staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in one of the self catering apartments over half term with our children and puppy. We had an evening meal and two breakfasts, all of which were lovely. They have a cozy lounge area with log fire, eggs from their own extensive range of birds & nice walks by the river a tthe end of the road.

I'd thoroughly recommend a stay here & many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

thank you for your positive comments.We are at the moment refurbishing the Apt you stayed in, so if you visit again you can give us a feedback on the new decor !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at this fantastic hotel over the weekend and it was a real treat, the room/flat was perfect, it had a balcony with decking overlooking the moors, we even had goats out the back. This place was the most friendly welcoming hotel that we have ever stayed in! you had the choice of being self catering (as it had a kitchen in the apartment) or you could be lazy and have a lovely meal in their restaurant, we opted for the restaurant and it was the best decision we could of made, this place was so good we have decided to revisit next wednesday. :)

Room Tip: Every room/apartment is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUFFCLOUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your review.It is always our aim to get customers to return to Sampsons it is a good indicator to me that food and service is about right..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely place 2 nights ago, what a great place, it's the most friendly welcoming place we have stayed in for a long time! The room was perfect, it was like a flat it was called the penthouse and there were goats residing at that back, the view was stunning across the moor. This place had everything! The food and the service in the restaurant was unbeatable. The choice of wines was an unexpected treat, all the paintings were for sale, definitely had my eye on the bull painting in the lounge. I am looking forward to staying there again, hopefully for longer next time....the great thing was you could go self catering or eat in the restaurant. Thank you Sampsons Farm for a lovely stay!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

many thanks for your review.It is nice to know that people appreciate what we try to deliver offer at Sampsons plus at the same time enjoying my wifes sarahs art..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A client of mine stayed here recently and absolutely loved it. The room was spacious and very comfortable, the host and staff were charming & attentive and the food and ambience were just what the doctor ordered.. Cannot wait to come back.

Room Tip: If you have time to detour in this part of Uk this is worth the effort and country lovers it is hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelswithsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your review and rating us the 'Best BB in Britain' the Hotel is undergoing a refurbishment and it is much appreciated your comments .Sarah and June look after the interior design throughout the Hotel..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, nice room , food superb , friendly staff , surroundings are lovely for a short stay very
Close to Torquay, would definitely recommend this lovely 15th century thatched cottage

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank christine1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your great review.The thatched farmhouse is a beautiful building with its quirky feature and she will appreciate your comments !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our overnight stay at Sampson's Farm was the first prize in a lottery and what a splendid prize it turned out to be - lovely location near the River Teign, friendly and obliging staff, peaceful room with its own decked veranda where we could drink tea and watch the birds at the feeders and Basil and Rocket the goats. We will return!

Room Tip: Rooms in Lower Teign Barn have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Follifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

thank you for your review, Basil and Rocket the pair of pygmy goats are very friendly, just like we all try to be at Sampsons Farm !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
2 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
5 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
344 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
624 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
5 mi away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 24 in Newton Abbot
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampsons Farm Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampsons Farm Country Hotel

Address: Preston, Newton Abbot PQ12 3PP, England (Formerly Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Price Range: $27 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sampsons Farm Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14c thatched Devon longhouse bed breakfast with additional ground floor en-suite rooms in the converted stables. We offer rustic charm with friendly professional service. Pick your own free range eggs for breakfast from our array of happy hens in the apple orchards. River walks along the Templers way 4oo yards down the lane, walk across to Stover Country Park, free Wellingtons on standby. Home-made cakes baked by my daughter Eliza and why not treat yourself to a Devon Cream Tea. Great location to Discover Dartmoor (Hound of the Baskerville country) Teignmouth, Shaldon and Dartmouth all close by. Visit the famous Eden Project only 90 minutes away by car. I am always on hand to guide you on what to see and where to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sampsons Farm Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Newton Abbot
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant And Rooms
Hotel Sampsons Farm Country
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing