We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goats, private decking and wonderful riverside walks...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Goats, private decking and wonderful riverside walks...”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our overnight stay at Sampson's Farm was the first prize in a lottery and what a splendid prize it turned out to be - lovely location near the River Teign, friendly and obliging staff, peaceful room with its own decked veranda where we could drink tea and watch the birds at the feeders and Basil and Rocket the goats. We will return!

Room Tip: Rooms in Lower Teign Barn have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Follifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
thank you for your review, Basil and Rocket the pair of pygmy goats are very friendly, just like we all try to be at Sampsons Farm !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    77
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
62
189
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We've just had a three day break at Sampsons Farm and were made to feel like royalty. The staff were friendly, courteous and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very comfortable with a nice view of the farm land. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and the selection of food was great and certainly something for everyone.

We had two evening meals in the restaurant and the food was of exceptional quality. I have travelled to numerous destinations in the world, but can honestly say the quality and presentation of the food was excellent. We will definitely be returning for further visits.

Room Tip: As far as I am aware all the rooms are of equal calibre
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 224Frankie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. it is very important that we gain feedback from your stay and it is nice that you enjoyed your dinner with us on both nights.We are refurbishing another room at the moment and we are 70% of the way through the Hotel..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our first stay at Sampsons Farm , and it certainly wont be the last. The staff were very helpful, nothing was to much trouble for them, we had a very nice room, spotlessly clean, good food and a lovely setting. Highly recommended. Denis + Meryll

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
thank you for your review.The standard of the rooms and how they are kept clean for our customers is of most importance.Jess the Head Housekeeper works very hard to maitain standards throughout the Hotel..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

All in all a very pleasant evening. Menu was quite small but the food and presentation was excellent. All the staff were very friendly. Bar choices were a little limited (bottled beer only) and our first choice of wine from a local vineyard was out of stock. The building itself is full of character and the dining area was very tastefully decorated. Will most likely revisit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandSue5256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review.We have introduvced a new Fish special blackboard and the a la carte will change from the 10th November..Look forward to seeing you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We ate here last night for the first time in 20 odd years.

When we walked in we were asked what drinks we would like, there was no drinks menu or view of bar to see what options we had. We questioned what they had to get the response 'we've a fully stocked bar' went to order a bottle of wine from the winelist after requesting it, but it was not there.
The starters came out they were ok, lacked consistancy- ordered 3 of the same and all came out missing something - soup of the day was the best dish throughout the entire 21 courses we ordered between us. main meals were not as advertised. Chicken was meant to be in an arribriatta sauce, was more like a tomato and herb sauce had no chilli what so ever was more like a ragu, steaks came out as sirloin although ordered the special and the lamb was tougher than the steaks. The deserts were a serious let down - the' chocolate brownie' resembled a treacle cake covered in chocolate sauce with the smallest pot of ice cream. The service was polite, but not sure the staff were use to serving larger groups. The food although most of good quality meat it did not resemble what we ordered and the bar was not fully stocked as we were told. When the menu has such limited options as this did you would expect it to be as described.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pink b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank for your review.i am sorry you did not have a positive evening with us.If you call me on the business number I will be more than happy to go through your review in more depth..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Always happy to return to this lovely restaurant, with its limited menu it's always cooked to perfection and you can taste the quality in their ingredients. Although its small inside, the restaurant is happy to accommodate wheelchair access but mobility scooters may struggle in the corridors. Be careful if you're tall though, plenty of low beams to catch your head on!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToriElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I visited family who were staying at the farm and whilst the setting was lovely the room left a lot to be desired. They paid for an upgrade to a larger room but the room was still very small, with tired decor, especially in the bathroom, and leaves that were on the floor when they arrived were still there when they left 2 days later!
They informed me that the breakfast was lovely on the second morning but they were disappointed with the quality of bacon used for the full english breakfast. Would I stay there? No, sadly I probably wouldnt. However, if a little time was spent updating the decor and ensuring the rooms were cleaned thoroughly daily and prior to arrival this place would be a little gem.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
2.0 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampsons Farm Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampsons Farm Country Hotel

Property: Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Address: Preston, Newton Abbot PQ12 3PP, England (Formerly Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sampsons Farm Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14c thatched Devon longhouse bed breakfast with additional ground floor en-suite rooms in the converted stables. We offer rustic charm with friendly professional service. Pick your own free range eggs for breakfast from our array of happy hens in the apple orchards. River walks along the Templers way 4oo yards down the lane, walk across to Stover Country Park, free Wellingtons on standby. Home-made cakes baked by my daughter Eliza and why not treat yourself to a Devon Cream Tea. Great location to Discover Dartmoor (Hound of the Baskerville country) Teignmouth, Shaldon and Dartmouth all close by. Visit the famous Eden Project only 90 minutes away by car. I am always on hand to guide you on what to see and where to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sampsons Farm Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Newton Abbot
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant And Rooms
Hotel Sampsons Farm Country
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing