We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and pleasant place to eat and drink”

Revolutions Restaurant and Grill
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Contemporary, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Revolutions Restaurant and Grill is situated in the heart of Chippenham, opposite a Taxi rank and close to both the Bus and Railway Stations. Great for Brunch, Lunch and Dinner. Family owned with both Shoestrings and Buckles eating close by. Using only fresh ingredients, the menu changes monthly and has the addition of daily 'Ready Steady Cook' style special dishes according to what is available on the day.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good food and pleasant place to eat and drink”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went for a Birthday treat to Revolutions. Decided to give it a try, being locals. The menu charge includes 2 or 3 courses and a bottle of wine between 2 diners. Food was well cooked and tasty. Service was warm and friendly and we had a good time celebrating.
We had been warned by friends that the restaurant closed at 10.30 promptly - so make sure you arrive in time to finish your meal. Will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sewebb, Owner at Revolutions Restaurant and Grill, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Do you know, with this review you have summed up in a few words just exactly what we have always tried to do at Revo's. It really is so good to know that this is appreciated, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    62
    26
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Revolutionary”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

For a converted ironmongers this is a very pleasant place to eat. The menu is extensive for the size of the operation. The food is of a very high standard, the cost is very reasonble and the staff are pleasant and helpful

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank alistairworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sewebb, Owner at Revolutions Restaurant and Grill, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Many thanks for your comments, well received by us all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely local food”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited for a family evening meal. We all had three courses and could not fault any of the food, it was beautifully flavoured and cooked and well presented.

The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming, and we thought the service was fine, and it was busy, every table had been taken over the course of the evening.

For three courses and a free bottle of wine for less than £20 I think this is excellent value and we shall definately be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ODP_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sewebb, Owner at Revolutions Restaurant and Grill, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words, well appreciated by all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

First thing I must say is get the Goats Cheese and crouton starter - it is fantastic!
My boyfriend and I both had the steak, which was lovely until my other half found a hair on his.
The potatoes were also quite hard and undercooked.
I also found the staff quite rude, and we had to wait ages for our drinks (my starter turned up first!)...
This last experience was a shame because I have had some lovely meals in there. Seems to be going a bit downhill in my opinion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sewebb, Owner at Revolutions Restaurant and Grill, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Many thanks for this response, but we were a little confused at just when you were with us at Revo's as you have put several reviews of places in Chippenham when you sat at your computer one evening.
If you let us know just when you ate, we will be more than happy to get back to you, in the meantime have a look at our revolutions restaurant facebook page for a more detailed view of our thoughts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little disappointing...”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A group of four of us decided to go for a meal at the last minute and were pleased to be able to get a table at Revolution. I haven't been for a couple of years and have usually enjoyed my experience in the past. Our waiter was very friendly, chatty and helpful and we ordered our food. We were all pleased with our starters, they were tasty and well presented. These plates were then cleared by a waitress who didn't bother to ask if we'd finished or even enjoyed them, in fact she said nothing at all! We were then served our mains, for which two of us had chosen steak (which cost an additional £3.40 supplement each) and sadly we were both very disappointed with the steak as it was chewy and had a lot of fat on. However, the other couple we were with did enjoy their mains of chicken and beef. At no point during the meal did anyone come to ask us how our food was, which meant I was unable to point out our disappointment with our steaks. Again, once we had finished our table was cleared by the same waitress who didn't say a word! She didn't even ask us if we'd enjoyed our meals. We were offered a chance to look at the dessert menu a little later on but we hadn't planned on eating dessert anyway. Overall an ok meal for the price we paid (as the deal includes wine) but if I were to visit again I wouldn't spend the extra money on a steak as the couple who had meals of the normal menu enjoyed their food much more! Also a shame that not all the staff were polite.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sewebb, Owner at Revolutions Restaurant and Grill, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Becky, I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your steak, they are supposed to be the best we can source as our meat comes from Church Farm just down the road.
It is not acceptable that your waitress behaved in that way, if you could let me know what day and a rough description (text 07834817777), I will be able to make sure it does not happen again.
Your comments are gratefully received, so if you come in again we will happily let you try the steak again without the supplement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revolutions Restaurant and Grill also viewed

Chippenham, Wiltshire
Kington St Michael, Chippenham
 
Yatton Keynell, Chippenham
Giddeahall, Chippenham
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing