We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!!!”
Review of The Langley Tap

The Langley Tap
Ranked #13 of 112 Restaurants in Chippenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have visited The Tap on a number of occasions and never felt a need to review it until I read the pointless pathetic one left below. This pub hits way above what you think when you pull up outside. The food is always fantastic, the service friendly welcoming and non intrusive and the ambiance spot on. They support a local radio station which play music from the 60's to the 90's with the odd hit from the 00's thrown in - nothing there to offend anyone! Last time we were here we ate Fresh Lobster which was the best I have had anywhere in the uk or abroad. The new team here are winning awards and for good reason. Where else can you go to eat that will portion down anything off their menu for children? Cooked fresh locally sourced - the best for miles. Visit and judge for yourself I personally guarantee you won't be disappointed - and yes the gorgeous chairs have upright backs - not sure many restaurants have reclining chairs!!!

1  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLangleyTap, Owner at The Langley Tap, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hi Anne - I have nothing more to say but thank you!!!!!! We try our hardest every day & night so you defence is warmly appreciated! Best wishes Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for The Langley Tap
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 279 of 345 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Was looking for somewhere to take a party of >30 but it will NOT be the Langley Tap unless we all become deaf. Every room/area has at least two speakers so there is no escape from the staff's choice and inconsiderate volume of "music" - it is NOT background noise it is aggravating and something you will have to talk above, we gave up and had a rather silent average meal. The meat platter was curly and sweaty looking and not very substantial for a main. Thai Yellow Curry with vegetables would possibly indicate Thai veg but it was not the case. Unimaginatively these were strips of red and yellow pepper, much mange tout, slices of baby sweetcorn and half a dozen whole chantenay carrots - carrots in a curry, and that was it. We sat away from the bar to get away from the noise but it was no better in the dining area near the kitchen where there were some comfortable chairs but most of them are wooden and ramrod straight that you would not choose to spend lingering on, even supposing the noise were soft background music and the food special.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Scottju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLangleyTap, Owner at The Langley Tap, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hello - Thank you for taking the time to review us on here. We are clearly very disappointed that your experience did not match up to what we would usually expect. If you have the time I would be grateful if you would email me info@thelangleytap.co.uk as I would like further details of when you came in so I can ascertain who was working and address some of your points. We do check our customers are happy and if you had raised any of these points at the time we would have been able to address them for you - music can be turned down as our speakers are all individually set for volume, chairs can be switched, misinterpretation of the menu can be amended or meals changed - however that opportunity has clearly passed which is a real shame. Regards Matt & Jo Lumb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Superb quality of cooking and food with amazing attention to detail service.
My roast beef was rare and succulent, the veg carefully thought of and served piping hot but not over done. Front of house put my wine in the fridge between glasses as she realised I like it very cold.
Pub food does not get better than this + the bill was a pleasant surprise..
Go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank foodiefinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLangleyTap, Owner at The Langley Tap, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for you wonderful review - it is heartwarming to know when we are doing good and little touches are appreciated - I will pass on you words to the rest of the team. Matt & Jo x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here on 3 occasions in the last few months and will certainly be my first choice of restaurant locally. The Langley Tap has the highest standards in service, presentation, quality and all at great value. Excellent menu choice. Highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLangleyTap, Owner at The Langley Tap, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Hello - Thank you for you lovely review - it takes a lot to impress people enough to get them to post in a domain like this so its greatly appreciated - I will pass on your kind words to the rest of the team here. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Matt & Jo Lumb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Went down to the quaint pub/restaurant The Langley Tap with a couple of family members on one of their much acclaimed "Pie Night's", and i was definitely not disappointed, the meal itself, which consisted of a steak and ale pie, which was top notch, and then a brownie for dessert, which was just the right temperature to eat! I asked the other members of my party what they thought, and they were equally impressed, the waiter and waitresses were friendly and polite, and always made sure we were alright and if we wanted any drinks.

The drinks were absolutely fab, and I would definitely recommend the langley tap, no matter whether your local or not! I will be coming back to The Tap soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Critic_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Langley Tap also viewed

Chippenham, Wiltshire
Kington St Michael, Chippenham
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Langley Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing