We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Langley Tap

The Langley Tap
Ranked #12 of 109 Restaurants in Chippenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

It was ok, just that found the menu limited and the standard of food ok..went for my sons birthday and was underwhelmed by service and food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    77
    29
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent welcome and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

After spending two days at Bath Christmas Market, and staying in nearby Chippenham, myself and my partner decided to eat locally on a cold Monday night and came across The Langley Tap.

Firstly, the welcome was amazing and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Unfortunately, I had the car with me and was unable to sample any of the Ales on offer, but the food we had was absolutely top drawer.

Will definitely be going there again when in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Menu, Fantastic Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We visited the 'Tap' just after it reopened and again last weekend for a family birthday. There were six of us plus our little nephew and once again we were warmly greeted on arrival. The 'specials' menu had so much choice ...it was amazing ...we all chose something different and each of us was very impressed by the standard of the food at very affordable prices. We will definitely be visiting again ... Lovely relaxed atmosphere and a charming village pub....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Tap ticks all the right boxes for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Over the past 8 or 9 weeks we have had the pleasure of eating at "The Tap" 3 times; the last time being on the evening of Wednesday 28th. On each occasion we have received great food from very willing, knowledgeable and caring staff with reasonable prices to boot! This time one of our party needed to have the vegetarian option which was superb. There was certainly no compromise in putting that meal together.
They were exceptionally busy with a function but kept us well informed of the situation and popped some bread and olives on the table with our drinks to keep us going. The delay was no problem for us as we had a lot of catching up to do with the friends who were with us.
The staff all wear black uniforms which gives a very professional touch to the service and the place has a very comfortable feel to it. For those who are interested in such things the rooms are very clean and bright. For sure "The Tap" is now on the top of our list for regular visits.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChaLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

After many Sunday lunches there, went recently after new owners re-opened the pub, we waited approximately 45 minutes for our lunch and were ignored and not updated whilst watching 3 other tables being served. May try again once more to see if this was a one off.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLangleyTap, Owner at The Langley Tap, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hello Emma R - We are greatly disappointed that your experience wasn't of our usual standard. At times we are very busy and do try to keep customers updated if there is going to be a wait before we can take an order or if there is a delay with the food, which clearly didn't happen in this case and I can only apologize. We would love for you to come back again so we can rectify our shortcomings. Best wishes The Langley Tap Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Langley Tap also viewed

Kington St Michael, Chippenham
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 
Yatton Keynell, Chippenham
 

Been to The Langley Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing