We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanton Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wedding Delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a small evening wedding here a few days ago. Perfect location and size for our needs. The accommodation and food were excellent. Despite the inexperience of some staff, all were attentive and pleasant mading our stay (over 3 days) very comfortable. Overall a hotel which clearly cares about its guests and one to which we plan to regularly return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me4thebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    87
    45
    25
    15
See reviews for
103
108
7
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed here twice, the first time I was in a lovely room at the front of the building, very nicely decorated, spacious and quite a luxurious feel to it.

The second time I was in the back wing in a not so pleasant room that looked in need of an update. The bathroom was fine, in fact, a great shower. However, the bed was very lumpy and hard! Most disappointing.

They have a great evening menu, you can also order from the bar menu which looks nice too.

The breakfasts are good, and the staff are great - helpful, friendly and polite.

I would probably stay here again - but would request a different/refurbished room

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scaltini30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just spent 2 days at the Manor and had a great time. Staff were THE most helpful and pleasant I have ever come across. Our room was beautiful, large 4-poster bed and lovely big bathroom.
Meals were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for anybody. Great time had by both of us.

Room Tip: Room 1 was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have stayed at Stanton Manor on a number of occasions, either on our own or with friends and have enjoyed every aspect of the stay, usually 2 to 4 nights. It may sound obvious but you are really weclomed on your arrival and made to feel good, the bedrooms are spotlessly clean, very comfortable and fully equiped to the smallest detail, we have always had a four poster, now thats a bit special, food whether from the bar or evenings in the restuarant is superb. The staff, what can I say! I have stayed in many hotels whilst on business and most of them could take lessons from the staff at Stanton; Bernise and all of you guys and girls are amazing. If all this sounds to good to be true, no what? Try It. We're staying there again in mid November for a few nights, can't wait.

Room Tip: Try and have a room in the original building to get the feel of the history of this beautiful manor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I am not a regular hotel user and am quite easily pleased but felt compelled to leave a review, having never done so before.
Booked in for two nights mid week stay due to work. I was informed, upon arrival that I had been given a room upgrade and indeed this room was lovely. Staff were immaculately turned out, very attentive, polite, professional, friendly and pleasant.
I like to tidy up after myself and make my own bed rather than having other people having to tend to my every whim but my room had obviously been cleaned and attended to after the first night stay.
Food was of a good quality and very enjoyable.
The building and the grounds are beautiful. I'm sure in the summer months that they would be even more stunning.
There is a very small amount road noise from the nearby motorway, as mentioned in a more negative review, but it didn't disturb me at all and I slept comfortably and well.
Beautiful surroundings, friendly staff, roaring open fire, a good ale, good food and a good sleep - what more does one require from a hostelry. I certainly would be quite happy to bring 'she that must be obeyed' here for a stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPC603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were given a voucher for a 1 night stay including B&B and a welcome drink (Time Out Charming Getaways). Lady on reception when I booked was very friendly and said she would try and upgrade us to a four poster room which they did. We were in "Hankey" on the first floor overlooking the garden. Room was very large, warm and comfortable although rather poorly lit - this didn't bother us though. Bathroom was huge with decent shower over bath and plenty of towels and toiletries.

The 3 course dinner at £29.50 per head was excellent - imaginative, well cooked and beautifully presented. Breakfast was good but unfortunately no fresh orange juice and our sausages were cold (a shame as they were particularly good sausages!).
One little niggle - some of the flowers on the table were dead, I was surprised this wasn't noticed. Better to have no flowers than dead ones.

All the staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately it was raining when we left so we weren't able to fully appreciate the lovely well kept gardens but I wouldn't hesitate to return or to recommend this hotel to others. It is no surprise that it is a popular venue for weddings with a beautiful church just outside the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyskyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with a KGB deal, before the actual weekend away I found the staff very friendly and this was no exception on arrival - Sarah, who had taken my booking, had put us in a fantastic room with a lovely four poster bed so we felt a bit spoilt! All the facilities were great. We had breakfast both mornings and dinner one evening and thought the food was superb. The other night we went to the Jolly Huntsman for dinner which is a lovely pub about a 10 min drive away.

All in all we would go back and felt we got good value for money with this deal.

Thanks again to all the staff for their wonderful hospitality and for making our stay memorable!

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Hankey' - lovely four poster bed and furnishings; looks over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
2.7 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
8.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
4.6 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanton Manor Hotel

Property: Stanton Manor Hotel
Address: Stanton Manor Stanton Saint Quintin, Chippenham SN14 6DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanton Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is conveniently situated minutes from junction 17 of the M4, set in the Cotswolds and a short drive to Chippenham, Bath and Bristol. The house has a rich history and is listed in the Domesday Book. Some rooms have luxury king-size four-poster beds, while others are suitable for families. All rooms are en-suite. The Gallery Restaurant has an AA Rosette and serves traditional British cuisine, overlooking the stunning grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Stanton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanton Manor Chippenham
Hotel Stanton Manor
Stanton Manor Hotel Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing