We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Travelodge. Not a Good One !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
West Sussex Coast
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“It's Travelodge. Not a Good One !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stale smells. Damp. Past it's used by date bathroom with black mould sealant and tile grout.
Bed was comfy. Linen was clean. TV worked.
Previous clients damp towel still behind bathroom door and after a shower noticed writting on the steamed up mirror that proved the mirror had not been cleaned.
Thank goodnes it was for only one night.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    105
    73
    50
    53
See reviews for
115
128
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SURREY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked this hotel for 2 nights because we were going to visit Bath over a weekend. We knew that the hotel would not be of high standard but was not expecting below usual UK standard. When we arrived (from London direction) we could first of all not find the hotel with the directions printed from the hotel website. We had to locate the hotel by satnav and even this added an extra 30 minutes to our journey. When we finally arrived the receptionist just said “you don’t have to tell me I already know. I have been asking for a simple road sign for ever”. She did not care as this is something she hears everyday according to her. We were given room 104 (next to the reception). The room smelt damp and big stains on sofa, walls and bed linen. The bathroom was nasty and did not even have hand soap. I had to go to reception to ask for clan towels as the one in our room looked like they had been used already.
We went to bed at 10pm as we had to get up early the next day. We did however NOT get an early night. Every time someone opened a door next to the reception it sounded like a big bang in our room. From 11pm onwards a group of people were partying in their rooms and went out for cigarettes all the time shouting and laughing outside our bedroom. The reception staff did not care and did not ask them to be quiet.
We were tired the whole of the day because of this. I did speak to the reception staff on our way out in the morning and asked if we could swap rooms. First they did not seem to care until the other one said “oh there is that other room upstairs” and his colleague smirked and said yes. They told us that they had to go up before us to change a light bulb. We received the keys (think it was room 288) we went and packed our staff and headed upstairs. As soon as we opened the door to the room a horrific smell hit us. The bedroom window was wide open so knew straight away that no light bulb had been opened and he was actually just there to open the window. I cannot describe the smell better that rotten and horrific. We were so tired at this stage so just dumped our bags and left for our day out. When we arrived in the evening the smell was as bad (if not worse) as it was in the morning. At this stage we knew they have sewage problems but could not be bothered to try to speak to the unprofessional staff. Again we did not get a lot of sleep and just wanted to get back home. Have to mention that the hotel is surrounded by rat-traps so they must have a lot of problems with rats.
When we checked out we heard from my husband’s parents (who stayed in their original room downstairs) that the noise continued all night again. Apparently this group of people had already been banned from this hotel once due to not been able to keep noise down –but had been allowed to book again. The people who moved in room 104 went to complain at the reception when we were about to check-out. They said the exact same things as we did (about the door making the whole room shake and the noise from people whilst smoking outside the window). The worst thing is that the reception placed this poor couple in this room even though the lady was 7 months pregnant!!! I could not believe it!! The reception knew about the complaints and chose to place a 7 month pregnant lady in this same room. This just confirmed it –the staff and management do NOT care about the hotel or its guests at all.
Will never return and writing this review to tell people to avoid this place!

Room Tip: avoid this hotel! There is no better rooms in this hotel -they are all terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIKKIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chippenham hotels

kent uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

2 night stay central to family.
very disappointing needs improving.Travelodge are normally clean,comfortable and affordable but not this time. Hotel smell musty ,the bed uncomfortable mattress i have ever slept on pillows were flat i got a very stiff neck . VERY UNCLEAN not up to normal standards,on 2nd night our room had not cleaned but you don't get discount on room for 2nd night

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our initial impression of this travelodge was bad, as the receptionist was not the most friendly and looked like she was more interested than the music on her phone than being friendly and helpful when we asked if they had the leaflet stand with local sites etc we were told that there were none surely common sense would prevail and she could have suggested something we also asked if there was a local town which we could visit and so she told us Chippenham was 10 minutes away however she failed to give us the directions map which included the route which allowed you to travel from the Eastbound to Westbound services without having to travel 15 miles on the motorway and we only found out about the map from friends who stayed the next night in westbound hotel.

As many of you will know travelodge now charge £20 per dog to come into the room, so with 3 dogs with us this was not an option, so as the temperature was 25oC we had to sit in the Carpark with the dogs like many of those staying with their dogs and there was a quite a few as many were staying for the 4 day championship show in Bath, I would think in an instance like this they could have made an exception as their carpark a) offers no shade b) can not be seen from the majority of rooms c) if anyone left dogs in the car this could have resulted in death. We did ask to move th a room we could see the carpark but there was only one family room you could see carpark and this was already occupied.

Now to the actual room its self, I think this may have been one of the smallest travelodge rooms, and although the fresh lick of paint the hotel had got was evident from it splashed across the woodwork in both the rooms and doors. the rooms and woodwork were very shabby and in need of updating. The bath was very dirty and the grout between the tiles was black. behind the sofabed was obviously not hoovered for a while as identified by several toenail clipping look out for them if staying in room 112 maybe they will still be there.

We were staying for2 nights and on the second night we returned to find beds unmade, bath uncleaned, tea, coffee, soap, towels and glasses unreplenished.

one nice thing was that if you walk up the side of the hotel, there is a nice rock face which is a shell sand bank from the jurassic period which is nice to read about and there was also an information stand but on the negtative one of the dogs got a tick from this area.

Room Tip: Ask for the map to travel between the Eastbound and Westbound travelodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzie_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

I didn't book it someone else did but never again. Although the bedroom looked OK there was a bottle top next to the TV that I didn't put there so it obviously hadn't been cleaned. The whole room was 'shabby' but the bed quite comfortable. The bathroom was terrible, tap leaking, no plug in the bath & fixture & fitting loose and grubby. Not to mention of course what looked very much like someones pubes on the edge of the bath. Nowhere to eat unless you drive out, if you're desperate & need a break in your journey it will suffice but otherwise steer clear!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhizzCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Booked this hotel for 1 night (for a little over 30GBP) so wasn't expecting much. We knew we would arrive past midnight and be gone against around 8am so did not need anything special, however I have not had such a bad nights sleep since my student days.

The room was simple as expected, however the bed was like sleeping on a trampoline - if one person moved the other rode the wave of springs that followed. The pillows were flat and the use of a rolled up t-shirt was thicker.

The most disappointing thing however was the dirty bathroom. The bath/shower had a lot of black mold around it and the shower head had green mold. Not pleasant. There was also a wrapper and toothpaste splatters from the past guest which we did not appreciate.

The only saving grace of this hotel however were the staff. The man on check-in, and especially the lady on check-out, were professional, friendly and helpful. We did raise a complaint on check-out and we were given 50% of our money back which I thought was good service. We may have been simply unlucky with the room but I personally would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

This was a great location for visiting our family and there is a secret back way over the M4 so you don't need to book the more expensive westbound travelodge.
However, the beds are still very hit and miss with travelodge and we had to ask to move room. The receptionist was most helpful and we found a room with a half decent bed (room210) but we still think travelodge needs to make a major investment and update all their beds. Until they do this, we will be staying at premier inns whose beds are really good if you have a bad back!
Also we have to say that the carpets and the sofa beds were quite dirty and I would not want to sleep on one of these

Room Tip: If you have a bad back and want a bed that is relatively firmer than the rest of lodge's then 21...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
1.0 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
8.4 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound

Property: Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Address: M4 | Leigh Delamere, M4 Motorway, Chippenham SN14 6LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound Hotel Chippenham
Chippenham Travelodge
Chippenham Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Chippenham
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing