We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub with Rooms, Handy for the M4”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 29 Chippenham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Pub with Rooms, Handy for the M4”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Not far from Junction 17 of the M4, but in a quiet village. Great pub with rooms across car park.
Room basic but comfortable. Ensuite shower double bed + additional single. Traditional and friendly pub, has great choice of beer and cider and extensive menu. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeakerBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to leave a review for us following your recent visit and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    17
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
37
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent few days, in a fabulous part of the Country, assisted by the break we had at the Jolly Huntsman Inn, in Kington St Michael - we were helping our daughter and her new husband move down from Scotland, and they didn't have a spare room - but thankfully we found The Jolly Huntsman Inn which was a true sanctuary from packing boxes!!
We had a fantastic room which was beautifully clean and well proportioned with the roomy en-suite. We had lovely filling breakfasts, and we had an excellent meal one evening with a fantastic choice of menu - spoilt for choice and this was in a group of 6, our daughter and husband, her mother & Father-in-law and us (parents) we all had different courses and were equally envious of the others meal's - huge portions which left everyone full - fantastic all round
The staff were extremely helpful in suggesting places to visit on the one day we had from unpacking - thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: they didn't have a pool! sorry couldn't remove the excellent I was giving it!! But if they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane2063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
It was wonderful to meet you and the family last weekend and we were so glad that we were able to provide a little peace and quiet in what was undoubtedly a very stressful time for you all.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay and dining experience with us which are much appreciated.

Hoping you will come and visit us again when you come to see family locally - the only problem is that we're not sure we can promise a swimming pool. We could, however, look into a paddling pool in the car park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night at the Jolly Huntsman we were impressed with the friendly staff and we had an excellent meal in the Restuarant. Unfortunately we were quite disappointed with the room (10), for the price we paid we felt it did not compare to others we had stayed in of the same value. The room was quite small and very basic, although clean. The towels had seen better days frayed and scraggy on the edges. The TV was the smallest I've ever seen (not much bigger than an iPad) and what resembled an office computer desk was used for a dressing table. The room lacked inspiration and imagination. We would have felt very unhappy if we had booked in for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to leave a review for us and so glad that you enjoyed dining here.

With regards to your comments on the room - these are all duly noted. We have tried to furnish these rooms to suit all tastes and indeed, are required to utilise them both for business travellers and couples. The furniture in place, we felt, was the best solution to providing both a working desk and 'dressing' table area and the television, whilst not a large screen, fits the table area well so as not to dominate the room. We note that you felt that the room was small in comparison to others you have stayed in (value wise) and would comment firstly that our prices are very much in line with other local similar establishments, if not cheaper in most cases and that we did give a considerable amount of planning and thought in the conversion process so as to try and avoid having a small bathroom and wasted bedroom space - and for this reason, were able to install a large walk in shower in the spacious en suite bathroom. Should we have the pleasure of welcoming you again, we would be more than happy to accommodate you in one of our larger family rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here with two friends back in early September for overnight stops on our way to Cornwall and on the way back and we have nothing but praise for the food, accommodation and friendliness of the staff.

Apologies for not posting this review earlier!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your review and we very much enjoyed meeting you. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I went to the Jolly Huntsman with a friend for lunch and enjoyed a lovely meal of chorizo chicken. It was very tasty and the portion was generous. A friendly welcome and we felt well looked after. My only query would be 'why is the steak so expensive?' at £21/£22 I felt that was extortionate and it put me off ordering it, It's a shame when many people enjoy steak and chips as good pub grub, why make it 'gourmet priced'?? - I would be reluctant to try it as for that price I'd be expecting michelin star quality...I would go again but perhaps not for steak and chips...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonbaby1683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the friendliness and atmosphere here when you visited at lunchtime.

With regards to the prices of steak, I note that you refer to our 8oz fillet steak which is priced at £21.95. Obviously this is the most expensive cut of steak and in recent years, the price to the consumer has risen considerably in most places that I know, purely down to the price increases being passed on by our suppliers and butchers and in view of general market conditions. Indeed, the prices of most things have risen dramatically to the end user. We have always tried to be fair to our customers with our pricing, but I am sure you would agree that to sell something at a loss is not commercially viable and as our meat is locally sourced and of exceptional quality, the old addage of getting what you pay for certainly applies in this instance. We do regularly offer Ribeye and T Bone steaks on our menu (as well as the Sirloin on our Main Menu) and these are obviously not as expensive.

Thank you for your comments and I really hope that we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was the first time I have been to The Jolly Huntsman and it will not be the last. Although it's close to home, it's one of those pubs that if you don't know it's there then you will never know. It's tucked away in the quaint village of Kington St Michael and the pub itself is also very quaint. I took my wife and two best friends along and we all agreed this was one of the best meals we have had (we choose a place to go to on a monthly basis). I had the kangaroo (another first). Absolutely scrumptious. Yes we had to wait but thats expected when you want fresh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chippenhamged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
What a lovely review - and so glad you had the opportunity to visit us at the weekend. Thank you for your kind comments and your understanding that good food, cooked to order, is worth waiting for. The Kangaroo has proved very popular and has been enjoyed by many of our customers. Hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I came to Jolly just for a week , ended staying over for 6 months :) Helen , Simon and others will do whatever they can do make sure you feel comfortable!! Food is gorgeous !! meals are massive --> "huntsman burger" and " mixed grill" are proper "man vs food " challenges ... I am sure that if I will be with business in Wiltshire again , I will be staying there .. only one thing you need to be aware of is fact , that if you are staying there for long time , you will get a nick name and its not always something appropriate to be used in public :)

Room Tip: They all great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikem077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Indeed, we were lucky to have such a lovely guest staying for such a long time in view of your work, especially as you were only originally with us for the one night! We look forward to seeing you again if the opportunity arises and in the meantime, don't forget your nickname! Best wishes from all of the team here (and Harvey Hound!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
1.6 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
115 reviews
7.4 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
7.0 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast
Address: 80 Kington St Michael, Chippenham SN14 6JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional and privately owned village inn offering home cooked fayre, an excellent range of well kept real ales and ciders, free wireless broadband, quality en-suite Bed and Breakfast, seasonal open log fire and a warm and friendly welcome.Winner - Chippenham Business Awards Hotel/Restaurant of the Year Winner 2013 - CAMRA Pub of the Year Winner - Highly Commended CAMRA Pub of the Year & Good Beer Guide ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jolly Huntsman Bed And Breakfast Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing