We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Hotel(Chippenham)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell House Hotel(Sutton Benger)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
60
21
15
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
21
15
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubb bvery nice stayevening meallovely roomtea and coffee facilitiesdouble bedfree wififamily roomplenty of parkingone night stayhelenkingtonlandladycucumberbath
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 104 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Whenever in the vicinity of Chippenham I always make a beeline for the Jolly Huntsman. The hosts Helen and Simon are friendly and nothing too much. The rooms are well equiped , comfortable and very clean. The beers are many and various and well kept. The atmosphere in the Jolly is excellent and there is often a turn on, Evening meals are a delight and the chef cooks them to suit your preferences. But the best is breakfast which is cooked to order not like most large hotels where it is kept warm in trays. The only slight downside is the car park which is on the small side and may require some skillful manouvres in the morning.i

Room Tip: Try for a room in the cottage.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yorkie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

What a lovely review and our sincere thanks for taking the trouble to post your compliments. We do try very hard to ensure that everyone enjoys their visit to us and reviews such as yours certainly make it all worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Spotted the brown signs decided to try this for a evening meal when visiting the area. Friendly staff lovely food and pub has character would recommend.
Even better a lovely mine golf parked outside all in all a lovely evening would return again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veedubgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

So glad that you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is definitely a brilliant pub, and any pub connoisseur would have a whale of a time. That does mean that on a Saturday night either you join in or you could be kept awake! We found everything about the pub excellent, from the food and drink to the company. It is definitely the local for a good many as well as attracting parties fro further afield, and the atmosphere is very good. Be quick to book a table if you want dinner, as it's very popular.
We always look for; bed, bathroom (particularly shower), dressing table facilities.
The room (no 9) was very plain and particularly the bed let it down, being much too firm for us as also very creaky! Although it was all new, and there were lots of electric sockets, they were all awkwardly placed for mirrors and lights - my wife found it hard to use her curling tongs. The shower enclosure was very big and the shower flow rate OK but not easy to control.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GatleyGrappler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your positive comments. We have noted the issues relating to placing cosmetic items on convenient surfaces and the creaky bed and have addressed these accordingly. Hope to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We found the Jolly Huntsman when we got lost on our way to Stonehenge. What a wonderful find! Luckily, they had a room for us. We walked into the bar and restaurant and instantly felt welcome and everyone there was very kind. Staff and other customers. We had a great meal, then went to our room. The room was beautiful and very clean with everything we needed. The breakfast the next morning was cooked to order and hot and delicious. We checked out of room and headed south to Stonehenge. We also took time to see other things in the area. Before we knew it, the day was coming to an end and we realized that we would not make it home that night. I called the Jolly Huntsman and they had one room left and they were nice enough to hold it for us. We got back there, got our same room and had a delicious dinner. Again, with very friendly staff and we had a nice time visiting with the other customers there. I live in the U.S. and was visiting England. My plan is to return to England to visit and now, no visit would be complete without a visit to the Jolly Huntsman. I plan to stay for at least 5 days next time. It is such a relaxing time with good food, good drink and good people. The selections of food and drink are great. Thank you to the staff and owners for making our time there so memorable. Hope to see them again soon. Am not sure if there was a pool there, but I am sure it is as good as everything else so I rated it excellent like everything else!

Room Tip: We had room 5 which had a queen size bed and a twin bed. Both beds were comfortable as were the pillows, which I am picky about. Everything was very clean and comfortable. We didn't notice any problems with noise in this room. The flowers on the way to the room and outside the room were beautiful and well taken care of. This is a very nice place to stay and I will return. Hopefully to "my room".........lol
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thanks so much for your review and it was a pleasure to meet you both. We shall look forward to seeing you again when you next visit the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here last winter for a friends wedding. The pub was warm and welcoming with a good selection of beers and good food. However, the room was basic, freezing cold and there was no hot water. We did mention this to the staff and were told it's on a timer and they'll look into it. We left it an hour but still no hot water, so a freezing cold shower, in an already cold room on one of the coldest days of the year wasn't the best start!.

The breakfast was good, and you can order what you want but make sure you're on time! some guest were 2 mins late which didn't go down too well. As half of us had drove to the wedding venue the day before, some guests went to pick up the cars after breakfast while the rest of us checked out. We were told we couldn't wait in the rooms for them to return and then when we asked whether we could wait in the breakfast room / pub, it was replied with a sorry, no, and the door was bolted once we'd paid. Considering it was snowing and freezing outside you would have thought they would have let us stay inside, especially as the staff were still inside!.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilcoxtww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for your review. Firstly, we would like to point out that in all of our years here, no guest has knowingly been short of hot water, indeed none of the boilers are subject to a time switch as with the heating. Upon the weekend in question, most guests requested an early check in so as to get ready for the wedding and all were accommodated, which was only facilitated due to the thoughtfulness of the guests the night before who were willing to check out on time. Breakfast and check out times exist for a reason. All too often, guests having attended functions the night before are in no hurry to check out and have no idea that it takes a good 90 minutes to clean the pub itself prior to opening for lunch, not to mention the rooms. We are sure you would agree that it would not be reasonable, safe or practical to engage in cleaning and vacuuming whilst surrounded by residents wishing to remain in the pub itself -a lot of behind the scenes work takes place to keep everything clean, tidy and running like clockwork and whilst we are willing to do our very best to meet the requests of all of our guests, this courtesy does sometimes require to be returned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews