We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hospitality, highly recommended.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 31 Chippenham B&B and Inns
adamctr
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb hospitality, highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed on a friday night, arriving at 6pm and leaving the next day and to sum up my experience of the Jolly Huntsman was excellent. Helen who I dealt with was helpful and extremely hospitable. The pub had a fantastic atmosphere, the food terrific (excellent portions) and the beer top notch.

The rooms were clean and spacious whilst the beds comfy. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamctr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hugely enjoyed meeting you all and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    17
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
36
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Do not hesitate.
I was given room 11, which has a Double and a Single bed,and is blessed with two windows making for a light airy rom
Perfectly acceptable for 1or 2 nights,I only say this because there are no comfortable seats in this room(with a polite sign asking you NOT to sit on the single bed if you are only using the Double)
Wi Fi works perfectly well,and Shower (only) room very clean and again has it's own window
Now for a Tip,very confortable Bar Area /Restaraunt but be warned, the food is really, realy good and way above average" Gastro Pub standards"
The Portions are simply huge(I had Chicken/Chorizo salad as a starter which was a main meal itself,and do try it if only for the Poached Egg in Batter!)
Staff welcoming and eager to ensure your stay/meal is as you would wish
Parking is no problem with on street parking (no restrictions) even if the Car Park is full
Will not hesitate to use again
Top Marks

Room Tip: Can only comment on Room 11 but would be happy to use this room again
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorM434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post your online review. Hope to see you again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

I arrived late on a Thursday evening, about 10pm. The pub was busy but the landlady quickly made herself known to me and showed me to my room which was in what I presume used to be stables now converted into nice ensuite rooms. I had room 4 which was perfectly adequate for a night stop over for work. The kitchen had just closed but Helen did offer to get me hot food though I didn't feel like eating so soon after arriving. Instead she put me together a cheese plate. the room was comfortable enough and better than a more expensive travel inn. I paid £65 b&b. The breakfast was ok too but checkout took a few minutes because the chef was also on this duty. Overall the stay was good though I was only there for about 8 hours. Helen couldn't have been friendlier even when I managed to leave a bad review by mistake for another hotel on a different site. She rang me and I was able to make amends. Again sorry for the mistake. I would stay here again and look forward to trying the food that has been raved about on here

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
330 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Visited with friends and thankfully we did not order starters because the main courses were gargantuan and of such good quality we could not leave a morsel. Needless to say we could not have dessert. The dishes ordered were a duck breast in an orange sauce; homemade burger; gammon egg and pineapple and a steak and kidney pudding. It is not fine dining but well executed hearty Fayre which deserves a second visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomski2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and visit to us and thank you for taking the trouble to post a review. We hope to welcome you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night, the pub is lovely, great food, very large portions - too much for us and a good selection of beers.
We were in a room in the building opposite and had the family room. A large room with a large ensuite. Both the room and ensuite is well past its best, tiles in the ensuite cracked across the floor, the shower head wouldnt stay up and the water didnt flow away. The bed was awful mattress def past its best. I think for £80 for two it is not good value. The breakfast was nice and cooked to order. We did raise the issues when we paid but the landlady was not at the pub and the chef said there was nothing he could do, I did leave my number and asked to be called, sadly that has not happened. Def go back to the pub and would stay again ONLY IF they refurbished the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere and food here and that the weather was kind to you during the Bikers Ride of Respect weekend. I am sorry that we were not available when you checked out - being Mothers Day I went out early as I wanted to lay some flowers where my Mother is buried in another local village, before we got on with the busy task of being fully booked for lunch. Our Chef did pass on the message that you requested a refund and required us to call and I have attempted to call twice but with no success.

With regard to your comments about the room, this was refurbished last year. The cracked tiles in the bathroom floor are a casualty of slight settlement in older buildings. I note the comments about the bed mattress and shower head and confirm that action is in hand regarding both issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I really enjoyed eating lunch at this pub. The food seemed good, but not out-of-this-world. The staff were also just a little bit rude. A good bet, however, for a slap up lunch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoebrigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JollyHuntsman, Owner at The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was very surprised and concerned to hear that you felt our staff were not as friendly as they could be as the politeness of our staff is normally something that we get very positive comments on. We did send a message to you to request further information on the reasons behind your comments but have not received a reply and are therefore sorry that we are unable to comment further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Rooms were tidy and nice to have the extra space. Bed was comfortable but not great.
I'm not going to complain too much at all as this place was £30 less than a tatty travelodge, so for £80 it was good value.
Delicious bacon and eggs for breakfast, cooked to order, so that in itself is worth £10 each!
Shower was good, everything worked.
It was a little noisy at night and room was quite small. We didn't experience the pub.
All in all, not bad.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
2.8 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
4.5 mi away
The Foxham Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast
Address: 80 Kington St Michael, Chippenham SN14 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional and privately owned village inn offering home cooked fayre, an excellent range of well kept real ales and ciders, free wireless broadband, quality en-suite Bed and Breakfast, seasonal open log fire and a warm and friendly welcome.Winner - Chippenham Business Awards Hotel/Restaurant of the Year Winner 2013 - CAMRA Pub of the Year Winner - Highly Commended CAMRA Pub of the Year & Good Beer Guide ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Jolly Huntsman Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jolly Huntsman Bed And Breakfast Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing