We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveler rating
215
272
118
54
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
215
272
118
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool car park older part middle of town lovely hotel the main hotel new building good size central location cooked breakfast steak no lift room was large friday evening full english weekend break would stay again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 685 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been using the Angel for yrs ...it was always a cut above other places in Chippenham but sadly that is no longer the case ...yes the staff are still excellent always greeted with a smile and helpful...food is ...is...not as good as say 3 yrs ago i realise chefs and kitchen staff change but it really is not as good ,but my main concern about the Angel is the state of the chairs tables ect ...today i or shall i say we ..went in for coffee and crumpets ...and in the bar area we didnt even want to sit in any of the chairs all were covered in stains and arms thread bare ..its gone from being a real treat to a slightly but not by much Weatherspoons NO LONGER SOMEWHERE TO LOOK FORWARD TO GOING MORE A PLACE YOU GO BECAUSE THERES NOT MUCH ELSE ,,,,i honestly feel sad writing this because for so many yrs it was an institution .it was ...THE ANGEL...

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Service
Thank herbydumplins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear herbydumplins,

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent visits to the hotel.

Firstly please allow me to sincerely apologise for not exceeding your expectations of the hotel.

We are currently in the consultation stages of a hotel refurbishment throughout the property with particular attention being paid to our public areas.

These refurbishments were due to begin earlier this year however due to unforeseen and unavoidable capital expenditure needed to key infrastructure components in the hotel the refurbishments has to be placed on hold.

This is not meant as an excuse and more an explanation of the hotel’s current position and that your observations have not gone unnoticed by the management team.

I hope we can continue to enjoy your custom and hope you will enjoy the new look Angel once these works are commenced and completed.

Kind Regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Close to Bath City
Chippenham is a nice town
Easy to find even in town centre location
Reception staff were very helpful
Problem with toilet was fixed very quickly without fuss
Car parking was easy to sort out
Couple more options at breakfast would have helpped

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Edb295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Edb295,

Thank you for providing your review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your comments about the reception team and the problem resolution you experienced and thank you for your constructive comments regarding our breakfast offering.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did the Great Little Breaks deal and such good value. Amazing two course dinner included chose delicious steak, wine and homemade cheesecake. Great breakfast, good quality compared to other buffets I have seen in hotels. Big room with comfy beds, TV and blackout curtains. Fast WiFi and central location easy to get to Cotswolds. Efficient check in process.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Amy J,

Thank you for providing your 5-Star review of your recent stay with us.

I was so pleased to read your comments regarding every aspect of your stay.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again upon your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Started popping in here on a Friday morning for coffee.. which is all well and good if your not in a rush !! It is normally quite busy with a lot of the older generation meeting up for a chat and catch up ... if only they had the staff to cope with this short lived influx, but each time I have been in the wait for coffee has been a lot longer than expected ..

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank JacquiB1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear JacquiB1107,

Thank you for your feedback on your Friday morning visits to the hotel.

I am sorry if you feel that our service levels are not to the standard which you expect. Our average wait time for coffee orders from order to delivery during peak business hours is around 8 minutes depending on the size and nature of the order.

If you feel this wait time falls outside acceptable levels then I do apologise. Of course we are constantly striving to meet the demands of our guests even during our peak business times and I am sorry we have not met your expectations in regards to this.

I hope you will visit us again soon and see improvements have been made.

Kind Regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Great location with parking right in centre of town. Initial rate was quiet high but nice receptionist found a better deal @122 b/b. Very good room right over front door. Huge room, comfy bed and well set up bathroom.TV reception a bit off. Could do with newer USB sockets for phone charging. Coffee in lounge in cafetière nice touch. Good breakfast , pity coffee wasn’t available other than from industrial machine. Nice friendly staff.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank larrys511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear larrys511,

Thank you for your review and for your positive comments as well as your constructive feedback.

By telling us what you liked about your stay and areas in which we can improve you are helping us improve ourselves for our future guests.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews