We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Having trawled hotel booking sites for exactly what we need (a room near Bath with space for a child and a dog) our last ditch hope was for the Best Western in Chippenham. For some reason Best Western, in my mind, conjures up budget hotels with low standards.

On arrival I was amazed by the size of our room (room 111 is a huge family room) as well as the hotel having an indoor swimming pool to keep our son occupied. The total price was £120 including breakfast (very good bacon). The room had a large sofa bed, incredibly comfortable king-sized bed, and a very large LG tv (possibly 47").

Heavy wooden doors throughout the main part of the hotel give the impression that someone has thought about the interior rather than just opting for the cheapest alternative. Part of the dining room also has a mix-and-match approach to the chairs to give the feeling of a boutique hotel rather than a one-size-fits-all, generic chain.

On our arrival we were feeling tired, and so we decided to eat in the hotel. Again, not holding out much expectation of a decent meal I was hugely surprised by the cost and quality. We opted for the steak deal which, for £22, offered two sirloin steaks and a bottle of wine. Usually sirloin is a tricky cut to get right, but these were incredibly tender and cooked perfectly (and delicious). Having lived in France, I know how the French rarely cook their steaks correctly - I just didn't expect them to be trumped by a Best Western in Chippenham! Whilst the steaks were seared, they had then, correctly, been finished in the oven to allow for the inside to be cooked. Our rare steaks (NB not RAW - as you would often find them) were perfect.

Everyone whether it was the cleaning staff, reception or bar/restaurant staff was incredibly polite and friendly and the central phone booking line was very efficient. A special mention must go to the lady who served our dinner and extremely kindly searched out some chocolates for us as we couldn't manage an entire pudding. Amazing service.

I can thoroughly recommend staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 111 is a large family room overlooking the courtyard and the swimming pool. Slight noise at nig...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 526 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed one night on business. Not cheap but great location, great room, great food. Was let down by lack of hot water for a shower and shave in the morning. Otherwise would have warranted a higher overall score. Would visit again and pray for hot water.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here for a family party. The rooms are not cheap but they are well appointed and were extremely clean. The breakfast was great and part self service and part waiter / waitress service. The hotel is right in the town so the shops are less than 5 minutes walk away with the usual coffee houses which are taking over every town. The hotel has a pool it is quite small but adequate if only a few people in it. I managed to use it twice and I was the only person in the pool. during our stay they fire alarms went off several times including one in the middle of the night. This was irritating but better to be safe than sorry. Thankfully all times it was a false alarm. A good hotel and friendly staff would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Friendly comfortable hotel. Stayed for 1 night Dinner/Bed & Breakfast. Fitness suite could do with a sauna & jacuzzi but otherwise had a fantastic stay. Ideal position for Chippenham shops. Parking spaces seemed to soon fill up

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
4.2 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
383 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
120 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
727 reviews
3.8 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
608 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Angel Hotel

Address: Market Place, Chippenham SN15 3HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Price Range: $101 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chippenham
Chippenham Best Western
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing