We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse customer interaction I've ever witnessed and the food was bland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Angel Hotel is local to us, we sometimes go there for lunch when we’re shopping in town and have always been quite happy with the service and the food (the coffee could be better mind). The waiter/waitress staff are usually very helpful and friendly.

However this weekend things appear to have changed somewhat. Although the waitresses were as always, friendly and attentive, the food (soup, and sandwiches) was bland and totally without seasoning, the portions have decreased, and the prices have increased since our last visit. But worst of all, we witnessed some shocking customer interaction with a very elderly couple sitting adjacent to us.

The suited and booted manager - I assume he was a manager since he was the only member of staff in a suit - was most unhappy that the elderly couple in question had moved away from the main entrance (which I must admit was very drafty). He berated them loudly for moving tables; he was annoyed that he would have to clean another table off for them and he made his feelings perfectly clear to everyone sitting in the lounge as he huffed and puffed from one end of the room to the other . He then walked away from the couple, taking their order away with him, totally ignoring the elderly man's questions leaving them both clearly confused and upset. We found the incident upsetting ourselves, and unprofessional in the extreme.

Needless to say, we will be taking our custom elsewhere in future. So, if you are elderly or have hearing impairments, our advice is choose a table wisely before you order and don't sit near the entrance because you will get chilly!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyIsabellaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianChippenham, General Manager at Best Western Plus Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear PinkGingerWiltshire,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent lunch visit. Although I disagree with your comments regarding our food as portions are as generous as ever and I feel that the standards have not changed, I appreciate that you are entitled to your opinion and respect your views.

I feel I must put across my side of the incident that you were not involved in but witnessed in the lounge. I should point out before I start that the guests concerned are quite regular and known to me, I personally have spoken to them on a future visit and they continue to use the hotel on a regular basis.

As you say the guests moved to a dirty table as I was bringing them their lunch order. As the table they were moving to had just been vacated there was nowhere to put their order down before I cleared away the dirty items. I explained this to the couple, took their food back to the kitchen and returned seconds later, cleared the table and served them their lunch.

What you are obviously not aware of is the fact that the couple, particularly the gentleman in question, are hard of hearing hence the reason you felt my voice was raised. He is also very easily confused which is why I directed most of my comments to his wife who was sat at the table at the time.

I feel your review is based on what you think you have overheard and witnessed, when not knowing the full facts about the incident and the feelings of those involved, and does not reflect what actually occurred.

If you would like to discuss this incident further I would be more than happy to do so

Damian Kaye
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 526 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Hotel in market place next door to local history museum and close to bus station and parish church. Hotel nice and warm despite very cold outside temperature. Food good and all staff helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: Quiet, modern rooms in separate building at the back of the old hotel- have to cross open courtyard...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This place is always v good, although on the odd occasion it is absolutely packed and they maybe dont have enough staff on, bu all in all it is very good. The food is always of a consistent standard and their sandwiches which are 1.5 rounds, crisps and a dip are well worth their money! It is clean, pleasant and very accommodating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place really looks nice with huge and comfortable rooms. Staff on check-in and bar were good. Having to leave at 6am we checked the night before and were told it would be fine. Chap who checked us out struggled with the system, credit card refunds and payment. He was pretty brusk even by 6 am standards.

Worse still the early start meant there was no hot water, heating, breakfast or even a coffee.

For the price it should do so much better. Perhaps they still live in a time where advertising both hot and cold water would be useful?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westwoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very nice greeting from the reception desk, prior arrival requests had all been looked after perfectly. We had a very comfortable room, warm and well equiped with all you could wish for.As for the meals , they were truly great. I must say that there are some really good chefs there and I had some of the best beef I have ever eaten. Full marks to the restaurant, the whole menu was attractive.The arrangements we had made with hotel prior to our arrival were so well fulfilled. we had a lunch for 13 of all ages and the table was so cheerfully set out, including crackers. it was another great stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: A room away from the side where the main hotel is joined to the spa should be quieter as you will no...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Reservations Manager went out of their way to agree to my husband's request for a particular room in the old house for our two night stay to celebrate his birthday. We had a wonderful weekend with my well-travelled daughter saying that it was her favourite hotel ever. Highlights we're the luxurious room, wonderful food, including a particularly good, swiftly-served, cooked breakfast, huge hot chocolates and a scrupulously clean swimming pool. This was a return visit which is unusual for us and tells you just how much we like it there.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old house are generally the best looking but are subject to potential noise from live m...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarveyMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is my second stay in a BW+ hotel and it did not disappoint. This is a quaint hotel on the market square. very clean, comfortable and cosy. Toiletries, hairdryer and TV all provided in the rooms. Good choice of food in the restaurant which was pronounced good by a colleague who had dinner there. Nice bar area with a good selection of reasonably priced wine.
Breakfast was lovely..choice of continental or cooked.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StokeyRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
4.2 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
383 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
120 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
727 reviews
3.8 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
608 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Angel Hotel

Address: Market Place, Chippenham SN15 3HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Price Range: $101 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chippenham
Chippenham Best Western
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing