We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, Excellent Service and Price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chippenham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Road Guest House
Ranked #6 of 28 Chippenham B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convenient Location, Excellent Service and Price”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I originally tried to book a room in Bath, but we ended up here because of the Olympic Torch. And I'm very glad! We stayed in the smaller house behind the main house and had a very comfortable and clean room and clean bathroom. The backyard was also very nice and we got good wifi reception. The owner was extremely kind, and when we had to leave at 5 am in the morning, she set out a breakfast for us! It was also a less than 3 minute walk from the train station (a 15 minute train ride to Bath). This is a great place a budget traveler looking for a good value!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    24
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
17
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SWindon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is the first time I have stayed here and I will definitley return again.
The owners made me feel very welcome and the room was well decorated, clean and comfortable followed by a good breakfast. I was given a free upgrade as the person in the room that I had been allocated had decided to stay on another night. The 'on suite' shower room was spotless with clean towels and free toiletries.
The B&B is very clean and well decorated throughout and I would be happy to reccomend to anyone staying in Chippenham.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firenze
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Very clean adn quite room. I'm vegetarian so I was happy to finded vegetarian breakfastI. Good to find next to my room a refrigerator and microwave. The owner was very kind

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imperatricefirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I wish to thank the Propriators for providing excellent accommodation, a friendly atmosphere and a good Breakfast.
A very good retreat after a busy day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We recently visited Chippenham whilst viewing properties and decided to stay over. We were offered at twin room at this B&B, very basic accommodation, all a bit grubby. Toilet was in a cupboard! Hair on floor ( not mine) no hand washing facility other than sink behind curtain on other side of room, which was also where the shower wasI this was scaled with poor flow, we did not consider this room on-suite, as advertised. Sheets were bobbly! Room rather depressing. This room is next door to the kitchen, so room was full of cooking smells. The reception/office area is immediately outside the room under the stairs. This really should not be a room that is let! And perhaps should be used as the office. Breakfast is buffetstyle, help yourself, and cooked is offered, ok, but nothing special.

Hosts friendly, but I did feel as though we had arrived too early in the dining room, however we had been told from 8.30 and were keen to be on our way.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms are better maintained upstairs ? Would suggest if looking for cheaper accommodati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRGH-Chippenham, Owner at New Road Guest House, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Terri,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at New Road Guest House.

We spend a great deal of effort looking after our guests and I am glad you considered us to be friendly hosts.

We do take comments seriously and are are of course concerned that you didn't enjoy your stay, particularly since they seem to go against the flow of our other recent reviews.

I do believe that the split en-suite and the proximity to the kitchen were pointed out when you arrived. Had we been made aware of your concerns at the time, we would have made every effort to address them when you were here. As you say, we do have other rooms and would have been happy to move you from the one you had selected on-line. Indeed, if you do return to Chippenham, we would be delighted to show you round the whole house.

It was nice to meet you both and we hope that your trip to Chippenham was wortwhile. Thank you for staying with us.

Sue A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We came here for one night and stayed for three. The hosts were welcoming and friendly and their knowledge regarding things to do in the surrounding countryside made our time here all the more enjoyable. We had planned to visit Bath and this was easy as we had a 5 min walk to the train and Bath was only one stop away.

The breakfast was really excellent with lots of choice of cereal, fruit and spreads and the cooked breakfast was delicious. There was parking out the back which made life easy especially for Aussies who are not used narrow roads and one way streets.

We had rooms in the main house. Both had bathrooms, wifi access (particularly good for the teenagers) and lots of freeview tv channels. The beds were comfy and the rooms were spacious and clean. It was also really helpful to be able to bring back takeaway at the end of the day and have somewhere to eat it. We looked forward to returning each night.

If we get a chance to head back to the UK we will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Very convenient. Owners helpful. Room clean and breakfasts great. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chippenham
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
3.5 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
117 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,492 reviews
9.3 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
0.2 mi away
Diana Lodge B And B
Diana Lodge B And B
#19 of 28 in Chippenham
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Road Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Road Guest House

Property: New Road Guest House
Address: 31 New Road, Chippenham SN15 1HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chippenham
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1877, New Road House is a Grade II listed, double fronted Victorian Villa with 10 letting rooms. Five are in the main house and five in the detached Coach House at the rear of the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Road Guest House Chippenham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing