We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service by mario”

Toby Carvery Hinton
Ranked #25 of 163 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Hinton. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Christchurch's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

Came in between 4/5ish was served by a lady who made no effort what so ever with us. Looked miserable as sin. However food was FANTASTIC. The time came for our bill she was no where in sight. Waited 20 minutes for her and she was no where to be seen. The marvellous Mario saw us looking adgetated with 5 children getting irritable and got our bill for us. He was absolutely brilliant with the children had a constant smile on his face and made us feel so welcome. He went above and beyond to help us dispite him having numerous other tables to deal with. He made what was terrible service into quite the oposit. Thanks mario. We will be back and will be requesting to have you as our waiter.

4  Thank amiefarrell96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

Dear

Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review, first of all I would like to say sorry for how your meal started but we are very happy to hear that Mario saved the day and made you leave with happy faces and children.
We will be passing on your lovely comments to the kitchen staff.

It really help s us out receiving this feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon

The Toby Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 875 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2017

We visited this restaurant for four evening meals of our Holiday. It was the first time visiting a Toby Carvery and really enjoyed it. Day 1 didn't go to a great start as the server was as little abrupt and didn't really explain anything to us.

Fortunately we managed to avoid her for the next 3 days !!

The food was great and amount was more than enough.

Only real negative was quite a few flies buzzing around and didn't appear to have those blue electronic zappers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StormUk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2017

Dear StormUk69,

Thank you for this 4 star review. Sorry we started off to a rocky start but we are glad it finished on a high.
You will be glad to here that we have actioned the issues with the flies and already had 4 zappers in place but we have 2 nice new shiny ones hidden in the restaurant so no more pesky fly problems for us (Self Five) ;)

It really helps us out and we look forward to seeing you again soon

The Toby Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2017

great food great atmosphere, we visited on sunday carvery was good , staff really helpful
tables well presented, good choice of meats and as always puds excellent

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V1256CCmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Dear V1256CCmartin,

Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review :)

We will make sure to pass on all your lovely comments to the team

Thank you

The Toby Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017

A celebration for our grandson's 7th birthday with 7 family members. We have dined here once before for a family gathering & thoroughly enjoyed the experience, finding the staff pleasant & helpful. Yesterday we met our host Mario for the first time. He pulled out all the stops from our arrival until we departed. Offering his small gifts to the 2 youngsters & creating such a friendly atmosphere truly made it an A++ experience for us all. Everybody present agreed that Mario's kind contributions, to ensure we had a wonderful evening, were such an unexpected bonus. The children loved him. Mario is a massive asset to the carvery. He certainly contributed greatly to our celebration. We all look forward to revisits. The food was excellent too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Holls23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

WOW!!! First of all a huge thank you for taking the time to leave us his review. 5 stars and indeed Bravo to Mario!
Sounds like he really did make your evening and I will be sure to pass on all your lovely feedback to him.

This was a wonderful to wake up to today and I'm so glad your grandsons 7th birthday will be one to remember!!

This was truly a pleasure to read and we cant wait to see you again soon!

Many Thanks

The Toby Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017

My Dad and I, are regular visitors to Toby Carvery. We are always greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. When I returned with our delicious looking Carvery, my Dad sudden took a turn with signs of a stoke. Within minutes Josh ( Asstistant Manager) was there. He took control of the situation and call for an ambulance. Thank you, so much Josh, you are a credit to the business and did an excellent job of making my Dad feel comfortable. Also helping me with reading me details to the emergency services. My Dad is home now and feeling much better. We will see you soon.

Thank Helensmith_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time in leaving us this wonderful 5 star review. We are very happy to hear that Dad is all good and feeling much better :)

Joshua would like to thank you personally for these lovely words and for leaving us a 5 star review highlighting his efforts.
Your father was calm and made the whole situation much easier to control.
We cant wait to see you again and maybe this time you can finish your gorgeous dinner without any drama from Dad ;)

Many Thanks

The Toby Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Hinton also viewed

 
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Toby Carvery Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing