We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Toby Carvery Hinton
Ranked #27 of 162 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Hinton. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Christchurch's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed November 21, 2017

great food great atmosphere, we visited on sunday carvery was good , staff really helpful
tables well presented, good choice of meats and as always puds excellent

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V1256CCmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Dear V1256CCmartin,

Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review :)

We will make sure to pass on all your lovely comments to the team

Thank you

The Toby Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 862 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2017

A celebration for our grandson's 7th birthday with 7 family members. We have dined here once before for a family gathering & thoroughly enjoyed the experience, finding the staff pleasant & helpful. Yesterday we met our host Mario for the first time. He pulled out all the stops from our arrival until we departed. Offering his small gifts to the 2 youngsters & creating such a friendly atmosphere truly made it an A++ experience for us all. Everybody present agreed that Mario's kind contributions, to ensure we had a wonderful evening, were such an unexpected bonus. The children loved him. Mario is a massive asset to the carvery. He certainly contributed greatly to our celebration. We all look forward to revisits. The food was excellent too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Holls23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

WOW!!! First of all a huge thank you for taking the time to leave us his review. 5 stars and indeed Bravo to Mario!
Sounds like he really did make your evening and I will be sure to pass on all your lovely feedback to him.

This was a wonderful to wake up to today and I'm so glad your grandsons 7th birthday will be one to remember!!

This was truly a pleasure to read and we cant wait to see you again soon!

Many Thanks

The Toby Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017

My Dad and I, are regular visitors to Toby Carvery. We are always greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. When I returned with our delicious looking Carvery, my Dad sudden took a turn with signs of a stoke. Within minutes Josh ( Asstistant Manager) was there. He took control of the situation and call for an ambulance. Thank you, so much Josh, you are a credit to the business and did an excellent job of making my Dad feel comfortable. Also helping me with reading me details to the emergency services. My Dad is home now and feeling much better. We will see you soon.

Thank Helensmith_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time in leaving us this wonderful 5 star review. We are very happy to hear that Dad is all good and feeling much better :)

Joshua would like to thank you personally for these lovely words and for leaving us a 5 star review highlighting his efforts.
Your father was calm and made the whole situation much easier to control.
We cant wait to see you again and maybe this time you can finish your gorgeous dinner without any drama from Dad ;)

Many Thanks

The Toby Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

Admittingly we arrived quite late on a Sunday evening (8.30) having had builders in our kitchen all day. We had the carvery which was below standard....the meat was tough and not hot, vegetables were dry and past their best as were the potatoes. Gravy was lukewarm. One of the worst meals ever. Eton Mess with strawberries surely you can't go wrong with that? Yes warm whipped cream mainly with four slimy tinned strawberries which were gross with hardly any meringue. How can they serve that? We were also bombarded with flies and so were other customers which seeing as though it's not mud summer and winter was a bit of a worry! They knocked £6.00 off the bill which they admitted it was nearly the end of the evening, not enough in my view.

Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Dear Kay T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review and I’d really like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to give your valuable feedback. Having read your comments, I can see we’ve let you down and I appreciate your disappointment.

I’d like to reassure you that we take comments and complaints very seriously.

In resolving complaints we fully investigate the issues, allowing us to spot and correct areas for improvement, making sure our guests have a great time when they visit us.

I am disappointed to read about your experience and really hope you will accept our apologies.

Again, thanks for letting us know about your experience as it allows us to improve and gives us a chance to put things right for you.

Kindest Regards,

The Toby Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

We have met SUPER MARIO who gave us a wonderful welcome and amazing service.
The food is always excellent.

Mark & Letizia

Ciao

3  Thank lelebene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanHintonChristcurch, General Manager at Toby Carvery Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving this review with us, just to let you know we have been under new management for the last couple of years and we are undergoing a wonderful huge refurbishment
We would like to strongly urge you to come a visit us again :)
Come and see our lovely new building and come and revisit our Hinton Team.

Hopefully see you soon :)

Team Hinton!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Hinton also viewed

 
Christchurch, Dorset
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Toby Carvery Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing