We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Splinters

Splinters
Ranked #22 of 149 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Splinters is the ideal place for you to enjoy a first class dining experience in our private dining restaurant situated on the cobbled street leading to Christchurch's Priory.Specialising in modern international cuisine, our chefs and professional staff will certainly make your visit to us a memorable one.We will first welcome you to the bar where you can quietly peruse the excellent food and wine menus. When you are ready, you will be shown through to one of our intimate dining rooms, each with their own distinctive style, to enjoy your meal in a relaxed and unrushed atmosphere.We have worked hard to earn our reputation with our patrons who enjoy dining out on fine food. Our proximity to the Priory makes Splinters an extremely popular choice for wedding receptions. The same private rooms also make an excellent business meeting and seminar facility.Whatever the occasion, you can be assured you will receive our full and professional attention to making sure you enjoy your time with us.The owners, Paul and Agnes Putt, look forward to welcoming you to Splinters.
New Forest
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Splinters is local to us and a firm favourite. There's always a warm welcome and time is taken to ensure that not only the meal but the whole visit is enjoyable. We have eaten here as a couple, with friends, with family, for special occasions and parties. Whatever the occasion the food is always excellent There is always a varied choice from the main menu and specials and it is freshly prepared. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustwoman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Splinters, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
It is great to read reviews from locals and pleased we are a firm favourite of yours. It is great to read such positive comments and be highly recommended. Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    45
    28
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
283 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Jazz night ”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food with a good wine list. This is becoming a very regular haunt. Some very good half bottles of red. I had avocado and orange salad to start and then steak. Finished off with. Beautiful apple and rhubarb crumble. Great atmosphere tonight with the band Playing outside.

Helpful?
Thank Barneyq101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Splinters, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed the latest Jazz Night. These have proved very popular and will be back next May starting during the Food Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food " Best restaurant in the region"!!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Initially we had dinner on Saturday the 9th - We were initially look for a restaurant that cooked fresh food from scratch. Paul Putt the chef patron of splinters restaurant did not disappoint. The menu is extensive - great selection if fresh fish, salad, steaks and vegetarian something for everyone. Agnes Putt and the front of team were very attentive and hospitable. We enjoyed our visit so much we when back the following evening. !!! Highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathanb186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Splinters, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Paul and Agnes are really pleased to see comments such as yours and thank you for taking the time to write your review. We will pass this onto the team at Splinters and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Bistro in the area”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The food was French inspired but with some firm English favourites. We have had lunch, breakfast and dinner at the venue and it compares favourably with dining in middle range French bistros. The wine list is pretty good . The thing that some may not enjoy but we like is the idea offset menus with a very limited selection BUT a set price. A very standard idea in France but less usual in the UK. The tables downstairs can be a little cramped but upstairs the ambiance is good with a sitting room for aperitifs and coffee after the meal (with petit fours).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrIanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Splinters, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for your review of breakfast, lunch and dinner and we are glad you enjoyed 'a little bit of France' in Christchurch. If you would like a return visit for breakfast we are holding a Beaujolais Nouveau Breakfast with half bottle of wine on Thursday 20th November. We offer set price options for lunch and dinner and also now have an individually priced a la carte dinner menu which is proving very popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly and Welcoming!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I visited Splinters in Christchurch last Wednesday evening. When we entered we were sat by the window and given canapes to have with our drinks, then we were escorted to our table in the restaurant which was set in a cubicle making it private and quiet. The food was delicious, the staff very friendly and helpful, and we'll definitely return and have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Manager at Splinters, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing Splinters and for your recommendations to your family and friends. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splinters also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Splinters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing