We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Christmas do ever!”
Review of Splinters

Splinters
Ranked #27 of 155 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $57
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Splinters is the ideal place for you to enjoy a first class dining experience in our private dining restaurant situated on the cobbled street leading to Christchurch's Priory.Specialising in modern international cuisine, our chefs and professional staff will certainly make your visit to us a memorable one.We will first welcome you to the bar where you can quietly peruse the excellent food and wine menus. When you are ready, you will be shown through to one of our intimate dining rooms, each with their own distinctive style, to enjoy your meal in a relaxed and unrushed atmosphere.We have worked hard to earn our reputation with our patrons who enjoy dining out on fine food. Our proximity to the Priory makes Splinters an extremely popular choice for wedding receptions. The same private rooms also make an excellent business meeting and seminar facility.Whatever the occasion, you can be assured you will receive our full and professional attention to making sure you enjoy your time with us.The owners, Paul and Agnes Putt, look forward to welcoming you to Splinters.
england
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The best Christmas do ever!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous food, wine, cocktails, service, venue... All food beautifully cooked and presented. You won't find better value for money for a brilliant Christmas party!!

Helpful?
Thank spags4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    46
    30
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh dear what happened”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have always loved Splinters but, it is a special occasion restaurant due to the prices. Unfortunately we were disappointed on this visit. I had booked to go with friends and asked for the Christmas menu, on arrival we were given several menus to choose from. Once ordered, after the starter, the waitress brought crackers etc as we had chosen from the Christmas menu (last year everything was already on the table), we weren't bothered but it was an afterthought and not the high standards we would normally experience her.
The Christmas Turkey was a breaded escalope and it just didn't work for us, it was bland and unappetising.
The service was pleasant but there was no atmosphere.
This visit was certainly not value for money and there did not seem to be the interest there usually is.
Some comments were made but just not picked up on.
I am so sad as I would have to think twice about visiting again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maisie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“fab u lous !”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

we were invited by friends to join them for a meal here, its still a very good restaurant and sorry we had not been back sooner. we had a choice of a la carte menu and a set priced menu, so plenty of choice, i was also given a extra menu with choices of gluten, dairy free dishes for me as i had called before hand to mention my situation, now thats great service and appreciated.
we enjoyed a variety of starters scallops, gravalax ,won tons, all very tasty.to follow three of us had the most delicious steak cooked perfectly and great flavour,and rump of lamb that was equally as tasty and best of all proper vegetables which you can't beat in my eyes.
we were equally spoilt in dessert choices and so nice to have good quality home made puds.
the restaurant is quirky and has a very nice charm of its own,shame some people have written negative reviews about decor as its nice to go some where thats not same as everywhere else and has character.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatdrinkstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A restaraunt you can always trust”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I dined at Splinters last month with two friends and it was brilliant in all aspects.
Last night, we were among a party of 40 people enjoying a Christmas dinner and , again, I can only describe the experience as outstanding.The quality of the food, presentation and service for our group was equal to our previous visit.
It's certainly an establishment that you can really trust !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our party of six had a wholly enjoyable dining experience from the moment we walked through the door. Pre-dinner drinks in the lounge were accompanied by delicious canapes which set the standard for the meal which followed. The main course duck was outstanding and particular mention must be made of the avocado sorbet which was a key ingredient of my mother's starter. The staff were friendly, making sure our every need was met, and the atmosphere relaxed. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank c f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, Owner at Splinters, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.

The avocado sorbet is a bit special, if you would like to know how we make it then why not book into one of our cooking demonstrations?

We look forward to welcoming you to Splinters in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splinters also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Splinters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing