We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family gathering”
Review of Splinters

Splinters
Ranked #26 of 155 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $57
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Splinters is the ideal place for you to enjoy a first class dining experience in our private dining restaurant situated on the cobbled street leading to Christchurch's Priory.Specialising in modern international cuisine, our chefs and professional staff will certainly make your visit to us a memorable one.We will first welcome you to the bar where you can quietly peruse the excellent food and wine menus. When you are ready, you will be shown through to one of our intimate dining rooms, each with their own distinctive style, to enjoy your meal in a relaxed and unrushed atmosphere.We have worked hard to earn our reputation with our patrons who enjoy dining out on fine food. Our proximity to the Priory makes Splinters an extremely popular choice for wedding receptions. The same private rooms also make an excellent business meeting and seminar facility.Whatever the occasion, you can be assured you will receive our full and professional attention to making sure you enjoy your time with us.The owners, Paul and Agnes Putt, look forward to welcoming you to Splinters.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“family gathering”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went to Splinters for a pre-wedding family meal.We all loved having the Blue room it was like being at home. The food, service,ambience were all first clas---faultless. Would highly recommend. Thanks to all the team we had a wonderful evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GlynoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    46
    30
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We decided to go to Christchiurch in our 31 ft motor boat "Morena" last weekend and as we had not been before in the evening didn't know where to go. We have been to the Jetty (the apparently no1) but I felt this restaurant was far superior and more homely. We were greeted amicably by the hosts and luckily we booked early. The food was superb, so much so I can't wait to go back. My steak which I couldnt quite manage was delicious and we had the remainder the next day. My husbands lamb was delicious, we always sample each others food and as I am a foodie anyway things like this are important to me. Overall wine was reasonably priced (over the jetty) and I much preferred going to Splinters.

Nothing to do with the restaurant but the pub nearby opposite in a side street is awful, if you want a drink before you go there go to the George in at the centre.

For a full report you can read my blog www.chrystianneinspain.blogspot.com
Not just Spain but all my holidays since September 2012.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrystiannehayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, very relaxing, superb food. Good selection for every course.... Would highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A beautifully decorated restaurant- with very friendly and helpful service!
The food was beautifully cooked- with daily specials and unusual dishes on the menu.
I enjoyed medium-cooked pigeon with a delicious red onion jam and puff pastry and shared a delicious take on Queen of Puddings (meringue just -slightly- over done on top)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZoePincombe94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A best birthday.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Paul and his team gave us a banquet to remember and made the day. The food was just great. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splinters also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Splinters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing