We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveler rating
594
187
67
38
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
594
187
67
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river floor to ceiling windows junior suite afternoon tea modern hotel wick ferry hydrotherapy pool wine list lamb special occasion every member of staff town centre perfect stay lounge area restaurant manager first class birthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 912 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2018

We have just returned from another weekend stay at Captains Club. The hotel did not disappoint and we had a really lovely stay. The staff from the lovely lady on Reception who greeted us, the Porter, James, the waiting staff and housekeeping are all warm, friendly and helpful. The atmosphere in the hotel is lovely and the band playing in the lounge on Sunday just added to this. Our suite was large and comfortable and newly decorated from our previous visit. This is a hotel that we love to return to and it never disappoints. The weather on this occasion was not good but the location and hotel itself meant that we still enjoyed a lovely, relaxing break.

Room tip: All rooms have river view, the suites are fabulously large and well equipped.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyLloyd, Managing Director at Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay at the Captain's Club hotel. I am so pleased that everything was to your satisfaction, despite the weather. Thank you too for your kind words about the staff and in particular James who will be thrilled to be highlighted for a special mention. We all look forward to your next visit when we will have the chance to look after you once again. With my very best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

I booked this as my husband’s birthday present and it couldn’t have been better. A lovely room with a great evening meal. Not cheap but the quality he deserved! Pity he doesn’t eat breakfast as it was lovely. The spa was very nice indeed and the position central for lots of sightseeing and walks.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AudreyFairgrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyLloyd, Managing Director at Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear Audrey. Thank you for your very kind review following your recent stay. I am so pleased that you enjoyed everything that the hotel and Christchurch has to offer. We look forward to the next time. With my very best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel although wouldn’t rebook
Plus points - staff very good and extremely polite great bed and pillows
Spa relaxing

Negative -Room absolutely boiling hot and air con system made no difference
Street light outside room kept us awake all night even with curtains shut

Breakfast mediocre- sausages rock hard and whole breakfast not very flavoursome

Stayed in many hotels and thought £160 very expensive for this hotel

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyLloyd, Managing Director at Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Thank you so much for your recent review and it was great that you liked the hotel and found our friendly crew polite and helpful. I am so sorry that you had an issue with your air conditioning in the room. The same thermostat provides heating and air conditioning and in the last week between day and night, people have been flicking between the two as the nights have been very cool and days much warmer. This is very unusual as normally day and night-time temperatures follow the same trajectory. I can only think that yours was set on heating and we'd have been really happy to switch it over for you. Apologies also if you didn't enjoy the breakfast and again we'd have been more than happy to put anything right for you had we known. We would welcome the opportunity to ensure your next experience is far more enjoyable so please do email me tim@captainsclubhotel.com and I will do my best to assist. With my best wishes...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018

Dropped in for a morning coffee with relatives whist on holiday in Bournemouth and visiting Christchurch for a morning. Lovely location, with good view of "life on the water" Coffee was quickly served and of excellent quality. Will visit again the next time we are in the area!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyLloyd, Managing Director at Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Thank you very much for your review Peter and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our excellent coffee overlooking the picturesque River Stour. Please do come back and see us again very soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Amazing hotel - we were in a luxury suite with our dog who was given her own bed and water bowls. The staff are excellent nothing is too much trouble. Our suite was very clean and equipped and overlooked the river. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was first class. We also had breakfast the following morning which was out of this world. Have stayed in many hotels all over the world but the Captains Club has now moved into no1 as my favourite. Hopefully be back for longer next time.

Room tip: Would imagine any room to be very good.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kathynunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyLloyd, Managing Director at Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review Kathy...it has made our day!! We are delighted that you have discovered us and enjoyed your stay so much. We very much look forward to you returning for longer next time. Take care until then...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews