We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best choice for 25th wedding anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2009

arrived at hotel early went for a walk in beautiful countryside nearby.hotel perfectly decorated to a very high standard.bedroom was breathtaking with fantastic views across the river stour.we were met with a bottle of champagne which was a lovely start to our break.the food was faultless in every way.staff were really helpfull and knowledgeable. we also had a relaxing massage and a totally chilled out stay.we will definetly be going back.would recommend anyone to go.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gandkHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
There are newer reviews for Captain's Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 733 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2009

We arrived on a sunny Sunday afternoon & the hotel appeared buzzing. Jazz band in full swing, attentive service and high quality food. Great position right on the river Stour. Our room was good but in fairness not exceptional. No mini-bar or balcony (just wide opening windows) and a surprising lack of light after sun-down - just a hallway light and 3 dull lamps in the main bedroom (could have done with a large central light). Furniture of black ash that wouldnt have seemed out of place in the late '80's. Just minor things and overall didnt affect our stay however be aware if it rains - the metal rails that surround the hotel make a shower sound like a tropical storm - even after its stopped raining. They drip - loudly - making sleeping difficult, even with the windows shut. Oddly the double glazing didnt seem very sound proof and a fair bit of noise rose from the restaurant area.

Food at Tides Restaurant was of very good quality with varied menu. Nothing overly ambitious and very tasty.

We both enjoyed a full body massage in the spa - a lovely area and very professional staff. Unfortunately we forgot our swimming costumes so couldnt make full use of the facilities, ie hydro-pool, sauna etc.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Would definitely recommend this hotel - we arrived not having booked and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Showed us the room first, checked us in efficiently and then booked us into the restaurant - all done with a smile! Room was well decorated with lovely views over the River.
Very attentive service in the bar and Restaurant - even bring gluten free bread for my wife when she explained her wheat allergy without us even asking!
Food was excellent in the Restaurant in the evening and at breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BongoTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We enjoyed a 2 day break January 2009. Managed to get a superb deal, a special ‘birthday offer’ which meant we didn’t pay very much for the room, although had to eat in the restaurant each night. The review is a little late….

Christchurch is a lovely little town in Dorset and the Captains Club is a modern hotel in a superb location on the river.

ROOM
The room was one of the biggest we have ever stayed in. Modern in design with browns and creams decor with a fantastic view (wall to ceiling windows) of the river.
Excellent clean modern room

HOTEL FACILITES
The hotel has a leisure complex, although we didn’t use it so can’t comment.

FOOD
Breakfast wasn’t included in our room rate and not being a big breakfast person we gave it a miss.
The restaurant was well decorated and had a lovely atmosphere. Food both evenings in the restaurant was…..fantastic! Couldn’t fault anything and the service was superb, we found the staff friendly and not at all pretentious (which unfortunately is so often the case in quality restaurants). The first night we ordered from the a la carte, although the second night there was also a £25 set 3 course menu – excellent value!

LOCAL
We ate twice (both lunchtimes) at Sabai Thai – good value set menu at £6.95. Probably the best Thai we have eaten…ever! If we stayed here again, we would definitely go for the evening meal.
Lost of good walking nearby although Christchurch itself was very buy in the day.

Overall, superb modern hotel where would happily stay again….and again…

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpecialTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

A wonderful hotel in a great location easy to walk to the town and pleasent river side location. The rooms were large and well equipt , the staff were very friendly and helpful even when a bottle of nail varnish smashed in the reception area. We had a wheelchair user with us and the facilities were excellent for access. Breakfasts were great , didn't eat in the restaurant as went into the town at night. Only downside was the charge for wireless network and a little bit of noise from the boats on a windy night.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandIWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We tried to book this hotel through laterooms.com but had problems getting verification from them. We contacted the hotel direct to see if our reservation had appeared with them but it had not - but the receptionist was very accommodating and booked it for us - same price! We arrived early Friday afternoon and checked in quickly and efficiently and was taken up to the room and a brief explanation of the features explained.
The room was massive and light and airy and the view out over the river splendid.
The only fault I could find (hence the non-perfect score for rooms) was the design of the room in that the light switch to the bathroom was behind the bathroom door so not easily accessible (especially at night) - and that was the only light switch to the bathroom.
Apart from that the hotel could not be faulted.
We used the spa facilities (robes in your room) which were basic (you need to ring beforehand to see if there is room) but very well maintained and the staff very atttentive.
The hotel does not have a gym - not an issue.
In the evening we ate in the bar area - the service was exceptional and the food excellent.
This was obviously a place that the locals used if they wanted a plush night out.
We ordered breakfast to ther room which was delivered on time and hot - faultless.
Christchurch shops are basic and there are restaurants to eat out if you so wish.
We would certainly go there again and would recommend it as a relaxing "get away from it all" break.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LymingtonRadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

First point of contact was via the telephone with reception, the service was prompt, friendly and helpful. The hotel was easy to find and there was no problem with parking. As usual I hadn't set my hopes to high but it was clear on arrival that this hotel has high standards of hospitality. We were welcomed by very professional staff and the case was taken to our room. Beautiful room,very spacious, modern and light. The front wall was a window that looked out onto the river, so wonderful views. There was a wedding reception below our room on the first night so there was some noise but this finished at midnight.

A visit to the spa confirmed an earlier e-mail that I had sent regarding limited time availability for treatments. I wanted a treatment that lasted 75 mins but there were only 1 hour slots available, not sure why. However, I booked a 1 hour body massage and it was wonderful. All the spa staff were friendly and professional. The spa area is intimate,(room for 6-8) the pool is a resistance pool not a swimming pool and there is a very powerful spa at the other end and a sauna. It is very chic, modern and clean. Highly recommended.

We ate at the bar both nights, again the service was great. This is the sort of place you can dress up for or be casual and still feel comfortable.A real mixture of people from those making a night of it to those popping in for the atmosphere.

Christchurch is a small, quaint place, not the place to go for retail therapy as the shops are limited but plenty of culture.

We wanted a relaxing luxury weekend and thats exactly what we got

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLeisureLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
757 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
398 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $188 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch with award-winning mixologist and Bar Manager, Tommo, at its helm. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing