We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with superb vistas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

we had a short break in this lovely hotel.
Our room had river views which were magnificent, always boats, canoes ,sailing yacths travelling up and down the river Stour.
The room is well appointed spotlessly clean with very good facilities.
The terrace is a most comfortable area to either sip a wine, beer or a coffee and has lovely river views.
We could find no faults with the superbly cooked and presented dishes in the restaurant.
The steaks are rather on the pricy side though.
The breakfast in particular is top class.
There is a good complementary Spa attached and a menu of treatments which of course are not free!
The bar is a very buzzy place busy until a late hour. Search out the great Cocktails and there is also a good wine and beer selection.
The best recommendation for this hotel is it's staff.
They do make you welcome. They are a credit to their employer, they are professional, cheery and always willing to do their utmost to help.
This an expensive hotel but IT IS 5 star quality.

Room Tip: all the rooms face the river!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank finian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
There are newer reviews for Captain's Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 733 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

The place is in a great setting, the food is ok but not fantastic, better to have fish than meat, i ordered a ribeye and it was not a ribeye and was not rare as i ordered. It was was far from busy but the waiting staff were very very slow. Not sure why. Same thing said over and over again, its about time the owners did something about it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank DorsetGun l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a three bedroom suite which was fabulous with views overlooking the river - so relaxing
The service was excellent, everyone so helpful and friendly. The weather was perfect so we were able to enjoy a fantastic lunch on the terrace. Dinner and breakfast were both superb and would highly recommend. Would definitely go again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I were in christchurch fancied going somewhere nice for a drink. I have been many times before and had no problem with the service or the food. Although the cocktail list was varied and interesting we had been given the old one with different prices so instead of £11 it was £13.50. The person buying the round thought it was slighty over priced when we asked the bartender he shrugged it off saying we had the old menu not even bothered to give us our difference. The cocktail was nice but the service was shocking so didnt really enjoy it. What a shame a nice place has gone downhill.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Food excellent. £16 for half a small lobster a tad pricy but cooked to perfection. Chips and salad top quality. Service satisfactory. Not so keen on the oerson vacuum cleaning around tge table whike we were talking. Ambience ok but again, nothing to write home about. View of the river good. Won't go again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My two friends and I needed a lovely place for a two night stay to say a goodbye to one of our friends who is moving to NZ. We booked a fabulous 2 bedroom suite which had breathtaking views across the river. We travelled a long way and were immediately taken to our room and then were kindly sent up drinks to help us settle in. We had dinner in the restaurant at 9pm which was simply superb! Beds were comfortable and the bathroom facilities very luxurious. Breakfast on each morning was absolutely top notch........ especially the Eggs Benedict and the freshly made Waffles. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Simply fabulous!

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful river views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rosie01202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place to meet friends for brunch. Good value for money and great choice of excellent food. Staff really helpful and courteous.
A quiet place overlooking the river Stour and a variety of people to watch navigating their way along the river. What an absolute joy.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Keely W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
756 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
397 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $188 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch with award-winning mixologist and Bar Manager, Tommo, at its helm. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing