We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Located next to the rowing club, Wick Ferry, and the park, the hotel is an easy walk into town and enjoys lovely views. I was pleased with how quiet the location was - we weren't disturbed early in the morning at all. Our room was crisp and clean with lovely aromatherapy products too. The spa was small (although I only enjoyed the sauna and infinity pool/hot tub) but with a selection of tea pig infusions and new magazines to browse was a good experience. There was no additional charge for the spa either, which isn't always the case in hotels. The staff were excellent during our stay; sincere, warm, and helpful - and the lady who initially took my booking really was extremely helpful in ensuring I had everything needed. There is a personal touch and pride from the reception staff, restaurant staff, spa and cleaning staff and it felt as if everyone really did care about ensuring a comfortable stay. If location, comfort and service aren't enough to recommend this hotel then the breakfast surely will! The breakfast was fabulous. Really superior quality in the buffet of cold meats, pastries and fruits - Dorset Cereals and thick creamy yoghurts. But the range on the cooked and a la carte breakfast menu were unbeatable. Between us we enjoyed eggs benedict, a cooked breakfast, porridge with brown sugar and caramelised fruit and the Arnold Bennett Omelette. We all agreed it was a fabulous breakfast to remember and we had no need for lunch! Little touches though, like home baked shortbread with coffee, and cappuccino or lattes with breakfast at no extra charge were what made the Captain's Club really special. Special was standard throughout and I certainly will be returning. Thank you to the staff at the hotel for a super stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
There are newer reviews for Captain's Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 733 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend away at this hotel. We stayed in room 202 which is a stunning suite / apartment overlooking the river. It probably helped that the weather was lovely but just sitting in the apartment watching people enjoying a walk along the river and out on boats was very enjoyable. What was even more enjoyable was sitting out on the lovely terrace with a glass of bubbly watching the world go by. This is a lovely friendly hotel. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Food in the restaurant is very good. My husband is a chef and has always enjoyed the food here. You have to book in advance as it does get booked up. Just a short walk along the river and your in the town where you will find all the shops and some nice little bars. Breakfast is very nice plenty of choice which will set you up for the day. The hotel also has a spa although its small its still nice to escape and offers plenty of treatments again you need to book. We had a very enjoyable stay and hope to return later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam-Aaron-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Pleasant stay in one of the newest hotels in christchurch.

Good location close to the centre, about a five minute walk. Plenty of parking out the front, without the annoying 'pay and display' you have to do in others.

Staff are very pleasant and always willing to help.

Rooms are spacious with views over the harbour. Nice comfy couches and big screen tv. TV also on the main bedroom with limited sky channels. Bathroom also large with a quality shower and standard bath size. Lights on the pathway at night can be a little annoying - the curtains are the split kind that don't fully cover.

Milk, butter and a welcome note is a nice touch.

Reataraunt is a little pricey. Nice food, but can get similar around for same or cheaper. Seems to be the place to be for over 40's on weekends, and the cocktails seem to be the most popular.

Breakfast is great, they have a menu, but the waiters allow you to tailor it to what you want, adding of taking things out at no extra charge. Good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurts etc, and they make use of local produce.

Spa seems to be very popular, we couldn't get in for three days!

Very pleasant stay, would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The gods shined on us as the weather was fantastic on our recent trip to the captains club, nothing better than sitting on their terrace with a cold one.

We have been before and again this lovely hotel lived up to our expectations.

The whole visit was a joy , the food is excellent , breakfasts are the best and dinner in the restaurant was superb especially the bream, the staff are superb and many thanks to Martin.

Looking forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Came here with small group of 10 family/friends to celebrate my Mums 70th birthday just for a meal. Food was terrific as was the service. Definitely will be going again and highly recommend. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MoryBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just returned from a birthday celebration trip with 5 girlfriends. Stayed here before so knew the setup. Yes it's in a fabulous location, and staff are helpful, friendly etc etc but they are just so slow. In the managements defence once we complained to front of house things changed drastically. The problem was as the restaurant maitre d explained he had taken on young newly trained staff and they couldn't cope, but surely that was his job to lead them and not let these poor kids struggle and get it in the neck from guests whilst he loitered and watched from the sidelines!
Our 3 bedroom apartment was spotlessly clean and faultless. Could have done without the builders refurbishing the deck area at 8am though! Understand work needs to be carried out but suppose you just don't want it when you are staying there. On the flip side if it was scruffy we would be moaning about that.
We had a great time and will definitely return and once all the young staff are experienced it will be outstanding!

Room Tip: 3 bedroom apartment was great if travelling with friends.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 963Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I came here with my Partner and Mother out-law for a couple of days
Yes the sofa could do with a clean, but apart from that I could not fault any thing about this wonderful hotel
From the moment you step in nothing is to much trouble you are looked after by friendly front of house staff The hotel is stylish cleaned and bright
We had a two bed apartment ( wonderful ) with amazing view across the river Our evening meal was outstanding and so was breakfast
Go to the spa for a treatment wonderful place to relax
I can't and wouldn't be able to remember every member of staffs name but a big thank you to you all Thank you for making our stay so lovely See you all soon Meany Thanks Roy x

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank royroy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
757 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
398 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $188 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch with award-winning mixologist and Bar Manager, Tommo, at its helm. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing