We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveler rating
565
180
66
35
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
565
180
66
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river floor to ceiling windows junior suite afternoon tea modern hotel wick ferry hydrotherapy pool wine list lamb town centre every member of staff fantastic hotel special occasion scones birthday treat high standard lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
634 - 639 of 872 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Generally a Very Pleasant Lunchtime Experience, PERFECT Table (great river views, although some of the seating fabric looked a little tired), GOOD Staff (attentive & knowledgeable, almost overly at times), AWESOME Cocktails (especially the raspberry mojito), TASTY Well Presented & Cooked Food (mains a little frugal for the price and avoid the pork Way Too FATTY) but overall Definitely Worth a Visit on a Special Occasion...

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived i can honestly say that ive never been made to feel more welcome than we did at captains club.

I need to give special mention to martin the concierge who could not of been more helpful, he went out of his way to give us maps of the area and book a restraunt with a lift in the hotel car! To be fair all the staff we spoke to offered amazing service and the management should be proud of how their staff performed! We travelled a long way to come here and we shall do so again in a heartbeat! Thank you captains club!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSANCLIVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just had a meal here and it was great - a wonderful atmosphere and the location is amazing.
We had a wonderful waiter who was very informative about the local history, places to go and see. Thank you to all of you for was the end of our break and we will be back to stay next time. It was a great end to our holiday and all our best wishes for a great season. Many thanks Mary & Joseph

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary_GableEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Captains Club is renound for being to more upperclass of places in the Christchurch area. My boyfriend and I stayed in a two bedroom Suite in November 2012. Firstly, the service was lovely and the concierge was mor ethan happy to help us with our luggage up to our Suite. The room was immaculate and we were greeted with a few treats in the kitchen which was lovely, the view was amazing with large windows to let a lot of day light in. We later had dinner and cocktails in the restaurant downstairs which was lovely, as it was my birthday the staff created a 'Happy Birthday' treat for my dessert which was wonderful. The following day we used the spa for two sets of massages and some time in the pool/sauna; all was lovely although I think I may opt for an alternate massage next time as the shoulders and back massage was a bit harsh on my small back! All in all, the stay was lovely although the price is extremely high for what you get and where you are.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixieloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We unfortunately found that we had booked into the Christchurch Harbour Hotel instead of The Captain's Table! How absolutely disappointed we were, and to make matters worse, the food was poor, expensive and not much of it, and room 311 was extremely noisy. However we were determined to get to the correct hotel the next day in order to at least have Sunday lunch there. On arrival at said hotel we were greeted by Torrie (sorry if we have spelt it wrong) who was in charge of booking people in for lunch. We told her our tale of woe and she immediately gave us a hug and said she would look after us. Which is exactly what she did - and she was so lovely that we just had to sing her praises in a review as she is a credit to the hotel. Thank you for taking care of us so well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth260552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews