We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location / bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location / bad service”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I decided to take my wife here for a afternoon drink and to enjoy the sunshine . We ordered are drinks wich took ten minutes .it took another ten minutes before we got are drink they then got are order wrong and they had to re make two cold coffees.how hard can it be . The couple next to us had the same problem he ended going inside for his drinks . Gret location bad service

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jason t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    140
    45
    31
    18
See reviews for
150
329
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went with my two daughters and mother for an afternoon tea.Lovely surroundings overlooking the river.If it had been warmer we could have sat outside.The waiting staff were very polite and brought individual pots of tea.The sandwiches and cakes were on a 3 tier plate and were yummy.
After looking at several venues for afternoon tea this proved to be excellent value for money and a very enjoyable experience.My daughters have never had afternoon tea and were impressed and voted to come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a fabulous hotel, this is the second time visiting and again have not been disappointed , it is a gem in Dorset, the location is fabulous, where made very welcome from the minute we got there,

We had a wonderful time, the Food and service are really good, managed to treat myself to one of their fabulous cocktails, made by there award winning Bar staff, had a lovely table in the restaurant and enjoyed a first class meal, the wine selection is second to none. They have an in house sommelier and a fantastic display just off the restaurant.

The room was first class, the accommodation exceptionally good and spotlessly clean.

They even have there own Hotel boat which next time will be at the top of my list to go on, lets hope the weather stays good for that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My first visit to the Captains club as a day visitor, I live local and thought it about time I went along, take in the stunning views and as the weather was absolutely beautiful we decided to have a drink and a bite to eat on the sun terrace over looking the river, we where told it was table service so we took our seats and waited - for over 15 mins before anyone came to take our order, (they had plenty of waiting staff on and it didn't look that busy), anyway after our drinks arrived we decided that we would like some lunch, I asked for a couple of menus and then we waited and waited for over half an hr before anyone came to even take our order, the food arrived and I have to say it was very nice, however a little pricy for what it was. When we received the bill, we'd been charged 60p per shot for a shot of lime in our drinks! whilst this may not be a lot to some, if you add this onto a couple of drinks it makes your drinks quite pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TracyN186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel amenities are very good and the location is great. River views from every room. I have stayed here a number of times and found the rooms to be excellent - modern and clean with all the amenities. The suites on the second floor are particularly comfortable and well equipped. The food varies from average to above average. The downside is that the service in the bar and restaurant is poor. Staff have been seen to look past people on purpose, appearing not to see their need for attention. On far too many occasions we have had to almost lasso someone to get drink service! Even on lengthy stays, there has been little or no recognition by staff - a fairly basic element of customer service, I would have thought. It is a shame as the rating would be otherwise higher.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I can't comment about the food/restaurant, as I didn't eat here, so be careful to separate out the food vs. accommodation reviews of this place. As far as the hotel goes, I have to say that I really loved it. Friendly, well-equipped and a very good night's sleep. Competitively priced as well.

Thanks and if you're looking for a surprisingly good design hotel in this area, you've come to the right place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_blag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Clean, modern hotel, well worth the extra cost when compared to the alternatives locally. Restaurant food was excellent.Breakfast couldn't be faulted.Reception staff friendly.Bathroom and toiletries very good.The views over the river with dogs swimming and paddling were very entertaining

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supervolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Property: Captain's Club Hotel
Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch with award-winning mixologist and Bar Manager, Tommo, at its helm. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing