We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful birthday weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Booked a week in advance following a google search for a luxury pet friendly hotel in striking distance of home. This was a wonderful experience being able to spend my birthday not only with my husband but also my pooch! The weather was appalling but who cared! This was one of the very best hotels in a perfect location by the river Stour - it has everything we could want - spacious accommodation (we were upgraded to a fabulous suite but even the two bedroom suites are very roomy), modern decor, spotlessly clean. I can't rate the staff highly enough. They were attentive to our every need - and that was every staff member - friendly and helpful, never fussy and so welcoming to our poodle for whom this was a first experience in a hotel (we usually book cottages). The food was fabulous and we opted for room service a £5 charge which was well worth it! We were treated like royalty. A great deal in February and we will definitely return!!

Room Tip: If you are taking a dog tell them in advance - they leave a bed and bowls for the dog and even offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastSussexTessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 750 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Myself and my 2 daughters stayed at the Captains Club for a birthday treat and had an absolutey wonderful time. Even before we arrived the whole booking process was very efficient and accomodating. We booked over the phone and they were helpfull and polite and we didn't have to pay anything to hold the booking, everything is paid for on leaving the holtel (they hold a credit card details and debit this on checkout) We phoned up on our journey there and were allowed to check into the hotel early.

First impressions as we entered the hotel was impressive and again the staff were so helpful. Our bags were taken to our apartment and when we entered we were amazed! Stunning is the word! A 2 bedroon apartment for 3 people and you could have lived there it was huge. The View is lovely and the fixtures and fittings of the room were extremely high quality. Perfect!

We had booked our spa treatments before we arrived but changed our minds when we got there and again the staff were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The SPA area is gorgeous with lovely pool, jaccuzi and sauna. The therapists we had gave us all beautiful treatments - really really lovely and relaxing.

Our evening meal again was perfect and the waitress was very good intereacting with us on just the right level. Breakfast was so nice as well with a lovely buffet and also full english cooked to order.

All in all perfect!! Highly recomended !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at The Captain's Club between Christmas and New Year - a group of nine people and three dogs - and could not have been better accommodated. Welcoming, helpful staff; pristine accommodation; and great food all helped to make our stay a comfortable and enjoyable one. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMF72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went just for afternoon tea as it was a nice sunny afternoon and most agreeable it was too. Can't really tell you much about the hotel that isn't already on here but it was very clean, plenty of staff and looked a nice place to stay facing right onto the river.

I've attached pictures of what we got to accompany out nice hot pot of tea each and it was delicious, all well presented by polite helpful staff and very filling it was too.

We had a 2 for 1 voucher so cost was £12 which is good value, normal cost of £24 for two people is maybe a little high.

Well worth a visit...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It was a miserable wet and dark afternoon but it was quite busy in the bar area. We had a very pleasant afternoon tea with lovely hot chocolate, lovely scones and cake and sandwiches. It was no problem for them to give us a jug of water as well (at no extra charge which makes a change from some places) and to wrap up uneaten cakes to take home with us. We spent a lovely relaxed couple of hours there.

I've also had lunch there and it's always nice food and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. Outstanding staff, spotless rooms, great food and effortless service. Add to this an easy walk into town and the Captain's Club is a winner. I will stay here again for any future business trips to New Milton.

Room Tip: All are nice. I stayed in both a small room and the larger room, both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gasman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed there last weekend and had a lovely time weather was really bad but we enjoyed the spa and all the facilities that were on offer

Staff were excellent and nothing was to much trouble
The food was excellent I would recommend this hotel to anyone
Will be going back next year

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaSun771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
777 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
409 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
419 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $184 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch with award-winning mixologist and Bar Manager, Tommo, at its helm. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing