We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

On our infrequent visits to Christchurch we eat at The Boathouse which is always excellent but, yesterday, due to there being a funfair on the grass in front and a loud rock band, decided to give the Captain's Club a go. BIG MISTAKE. Cheerful waitress greeted us and we sat outside next to the Wick Ferry at a table which had not been cleared. Had to summon another waitress over to ask for menus and table to be cleared, which she did but overlooked giving it a wipeover!A further wait so had to summon her again to say we'd like to order. She said she would get someone to take our order. What on earth her purpose is at the Club we could not fathom as she just seemed to stand around. The cheerful one then came over to take our order and we finally had it delivered - one beef sandwich @ £9 served on obviously bread from the day before and so full of mustard that could hardly taste the beef. Other half ordered the spicey chicken cajun wrap, which he said was tasteless and certainly not spicey. The two small capuccino coffees came in tiny tea cups - outrageously overpriced. We asked for the bill and told the girl who came that the bread was stale and dry (and sliced far too thickly) and the cajun chicken wrap was tasteless. The bill came to £21.60 and we did not leave a tip. The whole place was lacking in some way - charmless and very badly managed. A lovely sunny Saturday was spoilt and we will not be back. The Boathouse is 100 times better and far cheaper.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunandbeachDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 750 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here 24th & 25th August 2012. This hotel is in a great riverside location with lots of outdoor seating and small boat hire all around which was fun. The room was lovely, reception staff and bar staff really nice and overall ambience good. We ate dinner there both nights of our stay - the first night was lovely with really friendly, helpful, great service and really good food. Manager asked how the food was etc but did not crowd us. Second night however had a different restaurant manager/supervisor who appeared totally uninterested in customer care or service. She spent her time clearing away and setting up the other tables for breakfast - this was not even 9.15pm - not very nice when you're trying to enjoy your meal in what is a quiet (noise wise) restaurant. We cancelled dessert because she asked if we wanted dessert menues, did not bring them - then we asked for menues - you get the picture - it was just taking so long we lost interest. She send somebody else to see why we cancelled - she did not come over herself which I think was unprofessional. A small detail I know, may sound petty, but when meals & drinks etc are premium prices I think it is fair to expect good professional service. The other restaurant staff on this night were great. Other that that we enjoyed our stay. On leaving we forgot a camera charger in the room and when I rang reception they very kindly arranged to have it posted - this was very good of them (I did pay postage but that is only fair).

Room Tip: As far as I know all rooms are river facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerry089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I actually live quite close to this hotel but on a sunny afternoon you cannot beat the stunning riverside location. It seems to be growing in popularity and a trip to the Bournemouth area shoud include a stay here (better than anything in Bournemouth itself).

They have beautiful contemporary rooms and apartments with views over the river and all the mod cons. Great bar too (bit clinky clinky on a Sunday afternoon but fab atmosphere)

Room Tip: All rooms look out to the river but for a special occasion go for an apartment room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaraLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The service was excellent - but the food left a bit to be desired. We ordered Fish and Chips and a lamb burgher. The fish had to be sent back as the batter was so thick it was not cooked through. The fish was grey and watery. The burgher was eatable but did not taste of anything in particular. The Captain's Club did not charge us for the dishes that were not eaten.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at The Captain's Club and it was up to the previous high standard. The location is wonderful with the rooms overlooking the river and a park on the other bank. You get to enjoy the passing river traffic, the swans and people walking their dogs in the park.

Christchurch town center is a short walk away along the river bank and then past the Priory.

The staff are attentive and the decor is clean and modern.

Room Tip: Personally I would ask for a 1st floor room as for some reason the brese soleil is missing outside m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashfield531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have the Captain's Club for many years now. On a recent trip back to see the family I took my Mother to Afternoon Tea, we weren't disappointed. The food was lovely and service was great especially the bar tenders. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KatieLThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were looking for a last minute trip to south coast with the baby and opted for this hotel based on reviews and location. Hotel was more than welcoming for us and the rooms large with a great view of the river. Website isnt too thorough in terms of amenities on offerr but there is a very small pool within the Spa that is for hotel guests to use, incidently the Spa was great but I'd recommend pre booking treatments as it seems very popular with locals, same too applies to the restaurant which was fully booked on the 2 nights we tried. Lovely river side location with plenty of seating in the bar area to enjoy the sun and walkable to the town centre. Dined at a few local restaurants including 'the Jetty' which were great. Modern hotel so wouldnt call it romantic nor chic if thats what your looking for but a good venue nontheless.

Room Tip: All river facing but perhaps ask for a room thats not directly above the outdoors dining/bar area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank percypep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
776 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
409 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
418 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $184 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch with award-winning mixologist and Bar Manager, Tommo, at its helm. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing