We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good, staff under pressure, seats very uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain's Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food good, staff under pressure, seats very uncomfortable”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We had an early evening meal in the lounge area. The food was well presented and tasty. Coffee was not good. The seating was extremely uncomfortable, with no lower back support, so we had to sit forwards and lean on the table - apparently there is a plan to replace the seating - which is very much needed as the chairs also looked quite shabby and unclean. The floor could also have done with a good clean and the toilets (both ladies and gents) had baskets of used paper towels overflowing onto the floor. There was also lipstick on a glass of lemonade. The staff numbers were apparently not at the usual level (two instead of the four or five norm) and this did impact on the speed of service. That said, staff were genuinely concerned that we had been disappointed

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iforgetmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    148
    46
    32
    20
See reviews for
155
340
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Andalucia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

A friend raved about this place a few years ago and yes, when we had a look at the website, it looked lovely albeit a bit pricey. Very special and quite sophisticated, offering fine dining, a spa and waterside location. So we decided to splash out.
It felt wrong straight away. Set just off Christchurch high street, in a busy corner, the building looks like a sports centre. We parked the car and followed the pavement, right past trolleys loaded with dirty linen and what appeared to be the back end of the kitchens. Not very inviting. As we arrived a bit late we chose to eat in the all-day bar/restaurant, a large open plan room which leads directly into the main fine-dining restaurant, so not much chance of a quiet romantic dinner in there. We had to ask the wait-staff to clean the table which they did with a wet cloth and left it that way. Horrible.
Food was OK. Drinks sat on the bar for ages so we collected them ourselves. Rooms like a Travel Lodge. Conclusion highly overrated and certainly not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliAndalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Great view of the river, simple clean contemporary rooms, friendly and welcoming staff. Restaurant food good quality and interesting

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Everything and every member of staff are there to please you..We thought the service in Hotel Montana, Switzerland was excellent but this was better.I would recmmend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitcheldeanps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

I cannot praise this hotel enough. The rooms are fabulous. Very roomy, very light, overlooking the river. Very clean.
The staff are fantastic.......they all make a point of smiling and saying hello.
The restaurant manager, Andy is the star of the show. I met him first when I visited this hotel in October 2010. On my second visit in March 2011 he remembered me and made a point of coming over to chat. What a wonderful gentleman who makes every visitor in the restaurant feel very special.
The food at both dinner and breakfast time is fabulous. There is a lot of choice and everything is cooked to a very high standard.
I cannot wait to visit this restaurant again.....and also spread the word to family and friends. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaDodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Wonderfull hotel, fantastic staff, amazing food.....the maitre d, what ever they are paying you.......it's not enough

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sion123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom suites, what an absolute delightfull experience. The views over the river Stour were lovely. The overall ambience of the hotel is relaxed & sophisticated. The Wine Manager, Sebastien was brilliant, his choice of wines were excellent. Andrew the restaurant Manager exceeded expectation, and the food was excellent. We were lucky to have great weather so we relaxed on the terrace. I would recommend this hotel, my husband & I look forward to visiting here again very soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julielean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
737 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
387 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
370 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Club Hotel

Property: Captain's Club Hotel
Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch with award-winning mixologist and Bar Manager, Tommo, at its helm. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing