We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good restaurant but could do with a spruce” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisherman's Haunt Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but could do with a spruce”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

I've visited this restaurant many times. Generally the food is of a good standard. A large range of fish and local meat produce. Good on portions. Staff excellent, always a pleasure. Great beers.

What I would be critical of is two things. The whole place could do with a spruce up. The interior is looking very worn and a bit dirty in places. It could also do with more than just the 1 or 2 token meals for vegetarians which is sadly not to the standard of the rest of the menu.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold_Quackenbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    103
    40
    17
    4
See reviews for
49
145
2
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed one night here as we had to collect our daughter from nearby Bournemouth Airport. Chosen for proximity to this and also that it was doggy friendly. Clive was welcoming and informative at check in and our room was comfortable and clean with a nice large shower although maybe a little tired.
We ate in the bar that evening with our little sausage dog Cole,food was tasty, service with a smile and there was a nice cosy atmosphere and lots of treats and fuss for him. Also free wifi.
Breakfast was tasty, non greasy and served in the conservatory.
All in all a good nights stay !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We visited the New Forest Area in June 2014 and chose to Stay at a Fullers hotel - The Fishermans Haunt just 5 minutes drive from Christchurch. We had previously visited this hotel/pub approximately 20 years ago for a meal and due to its position around the Christchurch/Bournemouth/New Forest Area thought we would go back and stay this time.
The hotel was expensive compared to a number of other hotels in the area but we decided to give it a go.
On arrival the pub/hotel was not as we had remembered it.
It was run down,tired,smelly and was in desperate need of a major make over.
The staff were very nice but when showed to our room in the adjoining coach house it became apparent that it was run down and in desperate need of some tender loving care..
The smell as they opened the coach house door was as best I can describe like going into an old peoples home, damp and dusky.
Paint peeling off the walls and ceilings and not sure when the last time the windows had been cleaned. Breakfast was served in the conservatory - again ceiling blinds were covered in dust and dirt and windows filthy. Air conditioning unit on the roof of the pub was noisy and even with the windows shut was a constant obvious drone all night.
Breakfast and service was good but overall I would not recommend this pub/hotel to others.
Its a shame as the hotel is in a good position for touring the area.
At £270 for 3 nights bed and breakfast its well overpriced and we wont be returning in a hurry unless it gets a massive makeover. Its the first time we have stayed in a Fullers hotel and if this is the normal standard then we wont be using them again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeyToonArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We booked the Fishermans Haunt for the weekend (all rooms for Fri and Sat) as our son was getting married in Ringwood and the reception was at Sopley Lakes. The check-in was quick and easy even though some of our wedding guests had rooms reserved under first name only. We had arranged for a private buffet for the Fri evening and the food was plentiful and excellent.

The staff throughout our stay were polite, friendly, and helpful. The rooms were well decorated and comfortable but perhaps a little dated probably due to the building itself. All our party thought the bar of chocolate and the bottles of New Forest water were an excellent touch.

Local produce (jars of jam etc) are on sale in the bar.

We had stay here a couple of times leading up to the wedding and found it very convenient for Ringwood, the New Forest, Christchurch, and the beach at Muddeford. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Booked this Hotel for one night after checking Tripadvisor for Hotels in the area as we wanted to explore the Newforest area. Check in quick and easy, polite and helpful staff. The room was a little old fashioned but clean and comfortable (bed a little soft for me), I thought the chocolate bar and bottles of water were a nice touch.

We had dinner in the restaurant which was very nice (I had Cod, my partner had Gammon - both came with home made chunky chips), again polite and helpful waiting staff. Service was reasonably quick for cooked to order food. Checkout was also straightforward. I would stay again if I was in this area and I would recommend to friends and family.

On another note, this is a dog friendly hotel and some bedrooms allow them. Rooms are obviously cleaned well as no evidence of dogs in the block we were in (there was a dog in the room next to ours). If we stay again, we may take our dog with us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Had a Sunday lunch with my daughter and three little ones. Lovely waiter attended our table. Yummy roast and puds. Everything had that homemade taste. Plenty of meat and veg. It was I thought a tad expensive though so will have to keep this place for special occasions. Two roasts, two puds, two beers, three children's inclusive meals - £70.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherAnnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

You really must try this inn for food, we had the roast beef, it was fantastic, the beef was as soft as butter, the flavours were incredible, they have a varied menu and to be honest I could have chosen one of ten different dishes, the staff are really nice and friendly, first class in every way

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timbournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.8 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
2.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Tyrrells Ford Country Inn & Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Haunt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Haunt Hotel

Property: Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fisherman's Haunt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fisherman's Haunt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing