We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dog friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Another great stay lovely room plenty of space, real milk and coffee. The restaurant serves locally sourced food freshly cooked. The dog enjoyed the lovely local walks. Why stay in a plastic hotel when you can stay in a large room with character and great views.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazcjllttf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 418 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Booked direct with hotel on the day all very painless with the helpful Lauren who also booked us in and looked after us well for our two day stay. We were shown to our room in the seperate coach house with our flask of fresh milk (nice touch) though uht was available in the room.
Large room with equally large metal frame bed with adequate pillows. An array of teas both ordinary and fruit, plus coffee with a small cafetiere and two packets of biscuits. There was also a bottle of water by each side of the bed. Towels folded into a swan shape on the bed with a bar of chocolate tucked neatly in to the neck.
Good sized bathroom but quite a small bath though the shower was excellent. A quite amazing selection of toiletries and handy bits like cotton buds and a shoe cleaning cloth. Previous readers will know my fondness for towels that go all the way round and these do.
We retired to bed but while extremely comfortable , every movement brought a ringing noise from the frame ! Julie made use of a sweatshirt and a sock applied across the corners to bring the ringing to an end. Perfect nights sleep. Breakfast was good with just enough choice available.
The following evening we ate in the restaurant. It was Jazz night. I cant stand Jazz, the only music style i really loathe. Fortunately we had been prewarned by Lauren and she had picked a table for us where the cacophony of sound could barely be heard. Food was excellent . Julie had a game pate to start and i had Whitebait . It was in batter rather than the usual flour or beadcrumbs and so nice. Three courses nicely presented , hot and tasty.
Even for just a drink theres a nice atmosphere here and nice touches like fruit in a bowl to help yourself to. In a small bar area at the side there appeared to be some local products for sale.
Everywhere was clean and tidy and all the staff we came in to contact with were friendly and efficient. We would stay again tomorrow and would recommend to anyone.
All this about on the edge of the new forest, 10 minutes from Christchurch and another 10 minutes to Bournemouth

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Containsnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The room was good sized, clean and very comfortable.
The food was excellent and staff friendly and helpful. This is a super pub with a really lovely atmosphere, so warm, friendly and relaxed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Fisherman's Haunt and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I live in Leeds and had bought a motorbike on the southcoast and I had to travel to collect it so I decided to take my partner and make a weekend of it rather than going up and down in one day. I found The Fisherman's Haunt on laterooms and it looked good value for money and it was located away from the busy southcoast towns which looked appealing as I like peace and quiet, so I booked it for the night. We arrived late afternoon and were given a warm welcome. The manager took us across to the room personally and showed us around it which was a nice touch. Our room was an old coach house set of the side of the main building, so it was very quiet with being set away from the pub and restaurant. The room was a good size, clean and nicely decorated. The room had been prepared with an lot of effort, little things like fresh milk and herbal teas were really nice to find. We went into the bar around tea time and had a very nice pint of real ale and booked a table for our evening meal. Then we headed back to the room and had a very nice shower in the warm bathroom. Shortly we were back to the pub and sat in the restaurant part. There was a good choice of food and we both really enjoyed most of our evening meal, the starters were nice, the beer again was great, the only let down of the entire stay was being given soggy chips with my main meal, it sounds a little picky but its not good enough when you are paying £50-60 for 2 meals and drinks. Back up at the room there was a decent enough size tv so we ended up just relaxing in there watching a film until bedtime. The bed was very comfortable, my partner who often struggles to sleep properly, said it was one of the best nights sleep she has had in a long time. In the morning we were given a nice cooked breakfast and there was a choice of cereals and fruit to eat too. All the staff throughout the stay were very friendly and helpfull. I would defiantely go back and stay here if I am ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Although we only stayed one night it was an enjoyable experience. My wife and I were attending a birthday party in this Hotel and found it on the internet and saw that we could take our dog for a small extra fee.We were very pleasantly suprised at the high standard of accomodation and the food was beyond reproach. The breakfast menu was varied with fruit, full English and a choice of cereals. The bar was large but cosy with three or four different areas to sit and chat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the coach house and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I checked out the site after search via Trivago showed attractive prices and good ratings.
Seemed too good to be true, but turned out as good as expected. Evening meal was imaginative and fish oriented menu - service was prompt and food hot. Enjoyed it. Breakfast choices excellent - for a change kippers were not boil in the bag fillets and done right with a couple of hot local free range poached eggs. Very impressed with the 'little extras' that make all the difference, ground coffee and flask of warm milk, complementary bottled water which were refreshed every day, phenomenal array of bathroom toiletries in the bathroom.
But don't expect to find it 'roughly 5 miles out of Ringwood, unless you think 7 or 8 is about 5. Nowhere much to explore on dark December night unless you take a torch and walk a mile or so to next pub and that's it.
If this is representative of Fullers B&Bs I'll be looking for more.
.

Room Tip: Probably all are as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockerbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed for one night in September and we were accommodated in the 'Coach House'.The room was excellent,very clean and very well appointed.The staff were friendly and most helpfull.The evening meal was most enjoyable as was breakfast in the morning.
Service in the restaurant was particularly good considering they were somewhat understaffed.
Overall a good experience and to be recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisB692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
2.8 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
776 reviews
2.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
398 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
409 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Haunt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Haunt Hotel

Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $80 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fisherman's Haunt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fisherman's Haunt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing