We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We called for a meal in the evening and wished we had driven past, the food was of a very poor quality, two of our group had gammon which we found totally tastless and it was over cooked and very dry, another asked for fish and requested it off the bone, it came on the bone so we told the waitress we would like another one this time off the bone, when she brought it back they had tried to remove it from the bone and all that was served was a lump of fish, we ask to see the manager and asked him if he would have eaten that meal and in fairness he did say no he wouldn't and offered to have another one cooked which when it arrived was perfect, he did say sorry we are a little busy tonight but really that is no excuse for food to be served as it was, the staff serving were efficiant and friendly and seemed embarassed at the food they were asked to serve, it is a pity the meals was so bad because the place itself was nice, If you want to eat in this area I would look around there are lots of good places where the food is so much nicer and the prices cheaper, I certainly won't bo dining here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    121
    44
    20
    6
See reviews for
67
172
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed one night at the Fisherman's Haunt on the way to week in a beach hut on Mudeford sandpit. This is an old fashioned pub with rooms. We were traveling with our dogs and this place was just the ticket. We were given a room in the coach house. It was on the ground floor and opened directly onto the parking lot and gardens. We were able to park right outside the room. The decor was a bit dated, but they had spent money where it was important, modern bathroom fittings, power shower, black out curtains, big comfortable bed. To top it off the management and staff could not have been more helpful. We would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: For dogs, room 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go4geisha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalyan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

First thought quaint place, room front door needs painting ,lovely large comfy room but smells of dogs [ I love dogs) but don't want my bedroom to smell of dogs asked for any air fresher never got one so had to use my Chanel no 5 every day .staff were lovely.
breakfast was disappointing bacon hard ., location was ok.
Good points the bathroom was beautiful and very clean lots of lovely toiletries etc , the bed was very comfortable , I think all they needed to do was clean the carpets more often
I did think it was over priced.
I hope this was helpful to both the next customer & owner manager
Regards

Cecilia Keene

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank streetmaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We visited The Fisherman's Haunt as part of a family get together. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Good range of beers and an extensive menu including blackboard specials.

Parking good, some rooms are in an annex which one of our group stayed in. We were above the bar but noise wasn't intrusive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadioTircoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just spent one night at the fishermans haunt and my girlfriend and I and our dog were overwhelmed with the staff and service. They catered for our dietary requirements, we are both vegan and our dog was made to feel extra special. The food and drink were exceptional and the bedroom was lovely, fabulous bed, the walk in shower was amazing and lots of little extras to make us feel extra special. We cannot wait to go back. We have both travelled all over the world and this lovely little place is right up there for service and quality, a fabulous place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just visited the Fisherman`s Haunt for lunch. We did not stay there as we live in the area.
We were not disappointed at all - we all enjoyed our choices from the extensive menu,
all served up without having to wait ages with a smile. All in all, we could not fault
the Fisherman`s Haunt for food and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doneteaching2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for two nights and was excellent. The room was lovely, nice size, bed very comfortable, bathroom great power shower. The staff were brilliant very friendly and welcoming. We felt very relaxed. We ate in the pub for lunch and dinner both times food was superb. Definitely recommend for people to dine & stay as nothing to fault. Only thing (very minor) for the size of bedroom we were in (no 11) the flatscreen tv should be a bit larger but generally you dont spend much time in the room other than sleeping & showering.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.8 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
2.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Tyrrells Ford Country Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Haunt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Haunt Hotel

Property: Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fisherman's Haunt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Fisherman's Haunt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing