We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We often come to The Fisherman`s for a drink and a bite to eat, always very friendly and great food, dogs very welcome to!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 437 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were greeted late as we left Wales late and they could not have done enough for us.
The room was so comfortable, the setting of the room was perfect in a little apartment style setting in the coach house.
So comfy, modern, well presented, loved it.
We were so spoilt.
The following morning we were treated to a very quick brekky by the most adorable waitress(an auditioning actress/dancer) she was SO freindly and so lovely ruching to get all the food out for us, aware we had to get a plane.
She was spot on, then the chef came out and asked if we'd like a croissant he would wrap them to take with us.
So lovely too.
Just could not fault it, on returning to the hotel on coming home to get our car, the same waitress was clearly very pleased to see us and got us a bacon sarny to go off on our travels as brekky had finished.
Customer service was so refreshing, we WILL return one day.
Good luck with your auditions lovely, you deserve success.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here previously with a dog and we were made very welcome and at ease then. It is a busy hotel and fantastic restaurant bar with great beer and superb food. My husband is there on business and we choose to stay here rather than the nearer Premier Inn. We were welcomed back by all the staff and the Manager and his lovely partner remembered us despite the amount of customers they see each week. The chef and assistant chef maintain a high standard of cusine and the cleaners keep the bar and hotel rooms very clean - they even water the flowers. This visit was without a dog and we had been upgraded without our knowledge. However, we chose to sleep in the dog friendly block as it is quieter away from the road which does get busy. Clearly the road does not bother most people as the traffic eases at night. Breakfast is casual and very adequate but should you wish for something not on the list, they will do their best to provide it. Cannot wait to go again as they make a long journey and stay a relaxing one and worth while.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnj2049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed for the weekend at this lovely hotel. It is ideally situated in the New Forest, with many places of interest within just a few miles of the hotel. We were a group of friends staying for 1 night, arriving Saturday, departing Sunday. The evening dinner was of excellent quality and the staff are to be congratulated on the service that they provided. The rooms were great value for money and comfortable too with nice little touches such as small bottles of toiletries, towels, tee/coffee/hot chocolate/biscuits and a bar of chocolate just added to the experience. The menu on the restaurant blackboard and on the tables offered a wide variety of choices and the food was excellent. The manager, Hannah made us feel like it was a home from home as did all the friendly staff at the hotel. A big thanks to you all. See you again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Looking to visit a relative in Bournemouth, we chose The Fisherman's Haunt. The prices were very competitive, being considerably less than other hotels around. So what was the catch? Well there wasn't one. The rooms are in a separate building, the old coach house. This is good as you are away from any pub noise or cooking smells. Well furnished and clean, plenty of complimentary tea and coffee and fresh milk each day in a flask, there is no fridge in the room. Plenty of complimentary toiletries as well, even cotton buds! The breakfast was more than adequate with alternatives for those who don't want a full english.
There was also free wifi, Fuller's have got this right!
The location is excellent, close to Christchurch but within easy distance of all the New Forest attractions and all that Bournemouth has to offer.
Very helpful and friendly staff, we even got a 10% discount voucher for our next visit.

Well done Fisherman's Haunt!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doughnut-Jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed for three nights over a long weekend and found the accommodation to be of a very good standard. Our room was in the coach house on the first floor and everything was very comfortable; we appreciated the little extras like the fresh milk and chocolate. We ate in the restaurant each evening and found the menu choice to be extensive at reasonable prices. The hotel was located very conveniently for Christchurch and the surrounding coast. Overall we found the staff and service to be attentive and our stay was very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank St.AlbansHerts.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I was taken to this inn for the weekend as a suprise from the moment we checked in till the moment we checked out all i can say is a lovely place with excellent service and staff good food and a ideal posistion. a bar of chocolate and clean towels and bedding on both days, lovely toiletries you could have checked in with nothing and have everything there for you. room 8 was where we stayed and although it was on the main road nothing disturbed us. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting something close to the sea but away from the main resorts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank armchair4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
2.1 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
796 reviews
2.8 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
406 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
416 reviews
5.5 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Haunt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Haunt Hotel

Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $94 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fisherman's Haunt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Fisherman's Haunt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing