We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad that we can't do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Reading
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sad that we can't do better”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here on business, for 1 night. First time I'd used Premier Inn and unless I have no other choices I won't be returning. This is a staid, non-descript place where British hostelery has lost itself. The hotel is attached to a beefeater restaurant, which from the outside looks quite grandiose and impressive, but its been transformed into a frankenstein of a place. The folk who work and service the 2 establishments are great and friendly. The place itself is sad and gave me a feeling of discomfort. One particular thing that annoyed me after checking in and going into dinner was the sticky tables in the restaurant - uhhgg! disgusting. I could go on and bore your further but won't. For me, first and last Premier, I prefer a local B&B or something more personal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonBB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    283
    110
    49
    19
See reviews for
301
367
33
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very comfortable room with pleasant staff, they also provide a very good breakfast both continental or full english.
The choice of food and drink on offer is very varied unlike some of the competition.


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisWEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We needed a convienent place to stay for our sons wedding and as a family had booked 9 rooms .The standard was as expected from premier inns very high .The service went above and beyond when my daughter went into labour on the morning of the wedding .to say the staff were helpful would be an understatement , from front desk ,housekeeping to the night porter who let my son in law in at 5.30 am the next day they were brilliant ..(my daughter made the wedding,the photos and part of the wedding breakfast before leaving and giving birth to Liam)...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked this hotel as a £29 deal so were prepared for a cheap and cheerful overnight break. The reception staff were fantastic - so welcoming and helpful, even providing us with a map for a walk down to Mudeford Bay. Our room was fine - plenty of room for the 4 of us and the beds were very comfortable. We had taken advantage of the meal deal offer but had not realised the children were not included for evening meal which meant we ended up paying a bit more but it was not excessive. The restaurant was very busy in the evening but we had a table ready for us and staff were helpful and attentive. My steak was not the best (I had paid for an upgrade) and was charcoaled rather than well-done, and I had salad with dressing despite ordering without - but the salad was changed quickly on request. The meal overall was fine - and service was OK with staff being helpful and pleasant despite the busy session. We also had breakfast - which was lovely. Piping hot, plenty of food, even later on when we arrived, and the chef was extremely helpful, cooking me fresh eggs without a murmur. Even my eldest child on the trip went up for seconds - unheard of! We will definitely stay here again. The hotel is within a 20 minute walk of the beach and close to the New Forest and there are other chain eateries nearby if you do not want to eat in the Beefeater at night, including a Sainsburys opposite if you just want a sandwich or like us need to buy emergency trainers for your 8 year old when they have left them at school! A nice hotel, with excellent staff very attentive to guest requirements.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The dinning experience was poor dirty tables and cutlery. Poor food! A salad was ordered which consisted of dirty outside lettuce leaves , tough cold slices of steak. White wine was warm and not served with a ice bucket.


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here the night before my flight from Bournemouth Airport, booked 2 family rooms via the premier inn website which offered the best price. Rooms very comfortable, spacious and very clean.

Receptionist on check in very warm and welcoming.

Quite noisy as other guests went up and down the corridor but didn't disturb our sleep.

Didn't have dinner or breakfast as we checked out at 4am so can't comment on the food.

No phone in the room so had to walk to reception to ask for an iron and ironing board. Was given this over the reception desk and had to carry it to the room myself, which I haven't encountered in a hotel before?! When I tried to use it the iron didn't work properly and had black all burnt on it so I gave up, I didn't fancy dragging it back to reception to get another one!

I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoodyHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Usual excellent accomodation and service in the hotel, even though we had to change room.Nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff.
Good breakfast catering for all requirements but sadly the same old second class service for our "meal deal" dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel
1.0 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
707 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
327 reviews
1.9 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
Address: Somerford Road | Bournemouth, Christchurch BH23 3QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handy for Highcliffe Castle, Christchurch Harbour and the natural wonders of the New Forest, Only 8 miles from Bournemouth airport. Local attractions include the famous Priory church, Highcliffe Castle, the New Forest and beaches. Conveniently located for Christchurch train station, local shops and amenities and Christchurch town centre. Our Christchurch (East) hotel has everything you'd expect, Including our new, modern rooms with comfy Hypnos beds and our Orange Cow Beefeater restaurant next door serving freshly cooked meals ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Christchurch East Hotel Christchurch
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing