We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice chippy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Berties - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Berties
Cuisines: British, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Takeout
Description: We're bringing a traditional British favourite into the 21st century. Open 6 days a week. Monday to Thursday 11.30am noon to 2pm, then 5pm to 9pm. Friday and Saturday 11.30am to 9.30pm.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice chippy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Very clean restaurant and busy take away. The fish and chips we had were very tasty,the only criticism I had, was that I felt the portions were very small and the price a bit high. But on saying that I would visit again .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such good fish and chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

When we stay at hoburne naish we always go here to get a take away and eat on the beach! Childrens meals are such good value for money (enough for adults as well!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laylam86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We ate here one evening last week, very presentable and clean, lovely friendly staff and although a bit pricey, the fish and chips - haddock and Cod were absolutely to die for. The food on the plate was too much and I actually left some, not a common occurrence.

Will definately go back whenever we are in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunSEASANDANDXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Once battered, never bettered!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Despite being a Highcliffe native I have never previously been to Berties. I have tended to get Fish and Chips from either Fry days or Alexanders in Stanpit - what have I been missing?

As part of National Chip Week, Berties were offereing a 2 for 1 deal which I took advantage of. The large cod and chips were cooked to order as you would imagine, but wow, what a flavour and size. The fish were the largest I have had in a long time. The chips were plump, hot and not too greasy. The fish was gently coated with a lovely batter coating as opposed to the batter blanket that hides the fish you can often get.

As Berties is in the process of being taken over by Daniels they have made some internal changes to the menu boards and I'm sure more will come; this is a good thing as one of the reasons I haven't been in there before is its reputation for being a bit of an oldies restaurant.

Next fish and chips I buy will be at Berties - a must go!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berties also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing