We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Vicarage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #19 of 33 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel rooms are tastfully decorated and comfortable . Ensuite facilities and toiletries provided. Great powerfull shower. Lovely room with nice furnishings with coffee/tea making facilities and tv. My partner and i were both very impressed with the comfort and decor. The choice of breakfast was superb with a variety of choice to suit all tastes. Can not fault our stay there and recomend giving the Old Vicarage a try. We will definitely be staying again. We are so impressed that we will be booking another weekend and having all of our meals there. There is also a well stocked bar of ales and wines with a lovely open fire. We loved our time there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msGrace2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for 1 night on Saturday 27 October. We did not have an evening meal in the restaurant but had a fantastic breakfast in the morning which was very substantial. Stayed in room 6 which was clean, tidy and modern. Friendly staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrueBlueCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed overnight at The Old Vicarage and were very impressed.The decor is very tasteful whilst still feeling welcoming. Our room was spacious,very clean with a lovely big comfy bed. We had our evening meal there, which was excellent value. The breakfast was also very good and to a high standard.The only thing missing was a lack of a lounge area but this is being adressed in the near future. It would be a lovely venue for a wedding or family party. We would fully recommend this hotel as it is in a really good location for the south coast and New Forest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stumbled upon this place at the last minute, having left it very late to find somewhere to stay. We managed to get the last room and actually were pleasantly surprised. We were too tired to go down and eat but the evening menu looked lovely - if I had been able to stay awake - the lobster would have been a lovely treat! The room was nice, clean and well decorated. The bathroom was a good size and again, spotless. Our room was by the stairs and I was a little worried about the noise coming straight up from the pub but I slept like a log! Breakfast was delicious and the service was all with the smile and incredibly relaxed and friendly. We happily munched through our full English (excellent offerings for vegetarians I also saw on the menu) whilst looking out on to the gardens and the chickens roaming around just as content as we were!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here for my sons wedding and found the staff extremely friendly,helpful and professional. The hotel gardens are beautifully landscaped and the food is of the topmost quality, even down to the quality of the cheese,crackers and olives served in the evening. All of the bedrooms are very tastefully furnished and exceptionally clean. Everybody attending the wedding commented on what a lovely wedding venue this hotel was and I must say that I agree with them. Just wanted to mention that the train station is very handy and some of our guests returned to bournemouth and wareham by train. A lot more reasonable that a taxi as the hotel is a little way out of town.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were of the same high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I recently had my 50th Birthday party at the Old Vicarage with over 100 relatives from all over the UK enjoyign the day and the evening. Fantastic service from poeple who obviously love what they do, food that was amazing and a brilliant atmosphere created in a relaxed yet professional way. The funcitons rooms, and marquee, were amaing and the bedrooms individually desiged to a very high standard, we were delgithed with everything!! Recenlty taken over and revamped I am delgithed to have found it just in time for my party. I will defaintely be visiting again.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked delightful, we had a room which overlooked the gardens which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a very nice hotel very well decorated and the food is to die for we had the Sunday roast it was the best roast I've had my compliments to the chef and the owners seem very down to earth you get that real feeling that you are very valued customers I would reccomend this hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.4 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
1.5 mi away
Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Beachside Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 33 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Avon Causeway
The Avon Causeway
#3 of 33 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: Lyndhurst Road | Hinton, Christchurch BH23 7DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing