We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish, quality B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lord Bute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Bute Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Stylish, quality B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a lovely establishment, tastefully designed and furnished. We had a large superior room with bath and overhead shower. The usual tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the room together with biscuits. Molton Brown toiletries, flat screen TV and good wi-fi all added to a positive experience. The bed was huge and very comfortable and towels were thick and soft. Breakfast was excellent served in a pleasant conservatory and the staff were very friendly. My only complaint as it probably would be for all B and Bs on this road is that the road is the A35 from Southampton to Bournemouth which makes the location very convenient for all that this lovely area has to offer but it is busy and quite noisy. Rooms at the back of the hotel would be quieter. The Lord Bute is slightly more expensive than some B and Bs but the quality is obvious.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    69
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
78
166
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We recently stayed here , room and breakfast was lovely . We had a sunday lunch which was amazing value and very good food . The only thing we didn`t like was that there were no staff present overnight , we felt very uneasy about this, and if we had known this we wouldnt have stayed at this hotel . This might not bother other people but it did us .Apart from this it is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was my second visit, having stayed last February and this was equally enjoyable. Was more than surprised to be recognised on arrival and greeted with the same smile and welcome as the first time. We were shown to our room, which was immaculately clean. The staff was just wonderful and seem to treat all there clients as a quest and not just a name with a credit card. Breakfast was lovely and served with a smile. Difficult to find a fault with this hotel, so if your looking for a tranquil break in a lovely boutique hotel, then you would find it hard to beat The Lord Bute. Book and enjoy!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, no negatives to report at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoyalroyalBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Had driven by this place too many time to recall and thought what a good place it looked. So, booked a table for a special occasion.

Walked in and waited a very long time, sitting in the bar after we arrived while many, many staff passed us without acknowledgement. Eventually 20 minutes later the manager asked if we were being served.....Hmmm.

Food was very very good indeed. Service throughout however was rather hit and miss. It was either a little too overpowering (Sir/Madam...) or non-existent. After asking for the bill, I had to go walk to the to bar to fetch it after more than 20 minutes.

I'd like to try the rooms as they do look very good, and if the service is resolved I'd go back.
Maybe this was just one of those 'bad evenings'....... they happen. But I will go again and maybe stay overnight.

All staff were knowledgeable and professional except for the waits. I enjoyed it, in that strange way you do when you're determined to do so for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Let you know after an overnight stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleyBoy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel used to be the Gatehouse to nearby Highcliffe Castle. Rooms are spacious and individual;staff are caring -they go the 'extra mile' to ensure guests feel welcome; and provide much local information. The hotel restaurant has excellent meals served by lovely staff; the Sunday lunch is a favourite for locals, as are the themed dinners. Christchurch, which is a 2000 year old town,can be reached in a 5 minute drive and has many attractions and one-off shops. The bus, which stops outside the hotel, goes either to Lymington or Bournemouth; both well worth exploring. Go by bus as parking is difficult in both towns. The hotel is very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Stortford, Herts, England
Level Contributor
394 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were in the Coach House annexe. It had a small enclosed patio with table and 3 chairs, a small kitchette down stairs (fridge/freezer, washing machine, toaster, microwave, kettle (coffee/tea, milk portions provided), sink, cutlery and crockery for 4 but no cooker) and a very large bedroom upstairs with a good sized marble topped table that seated 4, a settee (extra bed) comfy chair and one other chair, (iron and ironing board in cupboard/wardrobe) plus a good sized bathroom with bath and hand held shower. Towels were high quality and plenty of them. Moulton Brown toiletries.

The bed was large and comfortable with a man made duvet but the pillows were hard and uncomfortable. The hotel is located on a very busy road but if you had the windows closed it wasn't a problem and an air con unit and fan were in the room. We had the windows opened so could hear the traffic but we slept well despite this.

The upstairs area had 2 velux windows which kept it cool in the 30 degree heatwave and the bathroom had another. The kitchenette had several windows to open. The blinds on 2 of the velux windows were tatty and hung down from the window.

There were some signs of wear and tear to the settee/bed, a few knocks on the tables and bedside cupboards but not enough to get worked up about. The very light carpet was grubby in places especially on the stairs.

Breakfast was excellent.. taken in the conservatory part of the restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed all we ate and the choice was good, presentation first class, portion size generous, choice of continental or cooked, toast arrived hot and all nicely wrapped in a napkin! the staff were happy to get you anything you wanted.

All the staff we met were SO friendly, helpful and pleasant. We were greeted very warmly, despite being exeptionally early and the lady could not have gone more out of her way to help us. We were able to put our luggage in the room (the previous guests had only just checked out!) and the presents I had for later in the day, I could put in the fridge which saved them all melting! We were given our key so it wouldn't matter what time we got back. As I say, we made to feel nothing was too much trouble, really appreciated that.

The hotel's location is ideal for viewing Highcliffe Castle and for getting to the beach to walk in either direction for miles! It's not that far from Beaulieu and several other quaint towns in Dorset and of course the New Forest.

Wifi was free and we got it in the restaurant area but not the Coach House.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lord Bute.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on Friday and we had a most enjoyable stay. The room was large and very well appointed and clean (a little dusting behind the pelmet wouldn't go amiss as there were a few cobwebs and a couple of resident spiders). The only downside was the poor noise insulation. We were awoken at 7:00 a.m Saturday morning by the TV in the next room, and conversations were clearly audible which is a shame.
Bathroom was large and luxurious with a very good rain shower.
We didn't dine there but the food on the diners tables looked amazing. I became invisible to the barman and eventually a passing waiter took pity on me and took my drinks order as he had seen me waiting for about 10 mins whilst the barman busied himself with his other orders.
Staff very friendly and receptionist especially so, she also served us breakfast in the morning which was excellent, generous portions, first class ingredients and well presented.
We would stay here again as the location is brilliant for the local beaches and New Forest, plus its in the grounds of HighCliffe Castle.
The doors need soft closers too, as there was a lot of slamming going on.
Wifi was a bit hit and miss, mostly miss as connection kept dropping out, very weak signal on mine and my partners smartphones and we are on different networks.
Niggly things really which could easily be put right to make it a perfect boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter away from busy road,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
1.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Bute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Bute Hotel

Property: Lord Bute Hotel
Address: Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lord Bute Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lord Bute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Bute Christchurch
Hotel Lord Bute
Lord Bute Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing