We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”
Review of Lord Bute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Bute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent 3 night stay at the Lord Bute.
Excellent location and fantastically high quality all round at a very good price.

We found all the staff very friendly and professional but also low key and relaxed, which suited us perfectly.

Breakfasts are cooked to perfection, quality ingredients and a good choice and we were offered hot food as well as toast, fruit (beautifully presented fruit platters), cereals etc.

We also enjoyed a great evening at the jazz night, again with delicious food and great service.

We had room 101 and had no issue with noise whatsoever.
Also, no complaints about the bathroom either!

Will definitely return if we revisit the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wbx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 409 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked here as another local and favoured hotel was fully booked. We have stayed before and were confident of a good stay and we had just that. I would say that whilst house keeping still seems high, wear and tear and perhaps a lack of maintenance is showing in places.

Service was also not as good as that of the past however that may have been the staff on shift.

I would stay again but there are other choices in the area I would consider first.

Room Tip: Upper floor to rear due to road noise or when functions get loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pirateofthecaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Lord Bute is consistently one of the best local restaurants. It gives the impression of being a high end restaurant from the outside and indeed it is but the prices are not high end. The service is really good and the environment very welcoming. Friday night with the saxophonist playing in the background is great!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed dbb very good dinner with (we thought) very low price. Breakfast again very good, quality ingredients prepared by skilled chefs, even breakfast was an experience, not just eggs. Other reviewers are right about room 101 near reception, it suffers noise from passers by and adjacent rooms, but it did not spoil our stay on 15may. All in all a good hotel and restaurant with good prices and really good catering, friendly/ helpful staff. Most important to me, very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyrochford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently had an overnight stay at The Lord bute for my birthday, the hotel has a 5 star AA rating and we were very much looking forward to our stay but was disappointed with the condition of the en-suite in our bedroom. There was water damage to the bath panel and ceramic tiles on the walls were very out of date and the decor did not match the decor of the master bedroom. We also felt that the hotel was slightly under staffed because upon arriving and wanting a drink from the bar we were told by the receptionist that the bar was closed until the evening, but she would serve us a drink if we had wanted.

On a positive note for our stay the hotels restaurant was definitely 5 star, food and staff were exceptional, the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them, so overall we would not rush back to the hotel but would definitely highly recommend the restaurant for a meal as it was outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 892Cheryl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Lord Bute over the May Bank Holiday weekend and were impressed with both the accomodation and the restuarant. In addition and as importantly, the management and staff were both welcoming and efficient. The quality of food and the ambience of the restaurant deserves particular mention. Overall a most enjoyable stay and I would certainly recommend it

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

On Easter Sunday we had a family meal at the Lord Bute restaurant, we have been a number of times before and the service and meal has always been very good.

This time however we felt that the service was below par, the staff were either disinterested or tired, it may have been a very busy weekend for them and we found a number of things that were missed by them or we had to pick up on. Despite this, I must say that the food as usual was good as ever.

However, on receiving the bill, we had been overcharged by £230 or so and bringing this to the attention of the young man at the counter area was greeted along the lines of "Oh, we had hoped that you were paying cash and would have missed it". He tried to make light of the "oversight" as "just finger trouble" and did apologise but we felt that a more professional approach should have been taken rather than brushing it off in a jovial way.

It is such a pity that this should have happened however, in the last 2 months each of the 3 previous restaurants we have visited we have had to query the bill where additional items have been "inadvertently" added, one wonders if this is becoming the norm?

It spoiled overall a rather nice family lunch and normally would have tipped but on this occasion did not.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank J1myd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
777 reviews
3.2 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#5 of 11 in Christchurch
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
418 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,936 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Bute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Bute Hotel

Address: Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $151 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lord Bute Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lord Bute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Bute Christchurch
Hotel Lord Bute
Lord Bute Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing