We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the Lunchtime Specials” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Vicarage

The Old Vicarage
Ranked #69 of 148 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Vicarage is a six bedroom Country House set in the heart of ten acres of Gardens. Say "I Do" at The Old Vicarage! Tie the knot, then celebrate with a party to remember in our stunning Garden Marquee. The beautiful Botanical Gardens and Woodlands offer the most perfect back-drop for what will become the most memorable day of your lives. A dream setting, coupled with outstanding food and service, for you and your guest to enjoy. The Old Vicarage is Licensed for Ceremonies, in our beautiful Orangery and outside Summer House. We are here to work with you, our dedicated Wedding Co-Ordinators will be on hand from beginning to end, ensuring stress- free preparations. offering you the utmost in flexibility and attention to detail, each Wedding is tailored to your specification. Co-ordinate with our Cordon Bleu Chef to create an enticing Menu. We enjoy what we do and look forward to working alongside you to create the Wedding of your dreams!
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Try the Lunchtime Specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have passed this restaurant on several occasions, but never had the desire to go in.

Anyway on the off chance my wife and I decided to pop in for lunch. We hadn't booked but were lucky enough to get a table adjacent to the fire.

We had the 3 courses - including a fantastic beof bourginon.

Try it, enjoy it and write your opinion on Trip Advisor - I would like to have your views.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    15
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I visited the Old Vicarage for Sunday lunch with my In Laws, Husband and children. We all thoroughly enjoyed it, my Father In Law (who is extremely well travelled) actually said it was one of the best Sunday lunches he has ever had! I had the roast pork and it was absolutely delcious, the vegetables were extrelely varied (not your bog standard) and all cooked very well. I went on to have a desert which was amazing. On a Sunday the childrens menu is a little restricted as they can only have a roast, but that was fine for us. I highly recommend the Old Vicarage. The price is quite average, we couldn't afford to come here every week, but I will definitely be returning. Looks like a lovely place to stay as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitewine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Dinner Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We met some good friends here recently for a Friday evening dinner together in the Restaurant.
The 4 of us received a very warm welcome from the friendly staff and the log fire in the dining room made it very cosy and warm on a fairly miserable November evening. However, we were surprised that there was only one other couple dining in the restaurant, although the atmosphere was still very pleasant.
The meal and drinks were of excellent quality although we felt a little expensive for what we had.
Our friend is very partial to Whitebait, which, although is only avaialble on the Lunch Menu, the Chef was happy to prepare them for him - He was very pleased!
We would be happy to recommend this restaurant based on this visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hope_Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here overnight. The accommodation is excelllent - it is tastefully decorated throughout and in excellent condition. Our evening meal was fabulous and at a good price, too. The menu covered an appropriate range. We had the crab starter and halibut on a bed of squid ink pasta. Both courses were wonderful. The breakfast menu was comprehensive and from it we had eggs royale. These were very enjoyable. Drinks were reasonably priced. The hotel is in a good position as a base for visiting both the coast and the New Forest interior.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked a table for 4,one of our guest had a special food requirement in which, with plenty of warning the chef was pleased to do.
The food was excellent and the service was very good.
The drinks were cheaper as we arived in happy hour 16.00-19.00
Our guests where very impressed and they will be returning.
All in all a good country hotel/restaraunt with friendly very accomadating staff.
Have also been on a 2for1 night that was equally good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldVicarageHinton, Manager at The Old Vicarage, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review.

We are always happy to accomodate guests with allergies. It is always advisable to mention when making a reservation, and our chef will create a few dishes especially.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal, and have passed your kind words to our Staff - Thank you.

I do hope to see you again

Kind regards


Laura Arnold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Vicarage also viewed

 
Christchurch, Dorset
Bransgore, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing