We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bargain Bite”

The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach
Ranked #2 of 149 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant at Avon Beach - now known as the Noisy Lobster - offers breakfast, lunch, light bites and dinner where patrons can enjoy one of the best views in the area.At the Avon Beach resort we also offer beach huts, an ice-cream parlour, seaside shop and takeaway cabin with a decking area to enjoy a great day at the beach.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Bargain Bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Went here twice in February wonderful position right on the beach Set lunch portions and choice good,quality and taste even better Cant fault food, service or atmosphere Go there soon before too many people find it and you can't get in

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grumpy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear grumpy76,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your 2 course set lunch on your recent visits. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,

Steve Hayward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    483
    155
    82
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant dog friendly location with excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We visited this restaurant twice in the past week as the first time was so good we had to pop back for tea and cake the next time we were nearby!

We had lunch while on a trip to the beach with our dog and it was great to be made so welcome with our four legged family member! One of our party has Parkinsons so was slower moving about the room and needed more time when being spoken to/served but the staff were very helpful, polite and put all of us at ease.

I had the Crayfish and Prawn Cocktail and the Calamari and Chips which was all delicious. Obviously good quality ingredients which had been well cooked/prepared. The Chocolate Brownie with ice cream was the perfect finish and just the right size portion.

Others in the party had Omlette, Soup of the day and Scampi and all commented on the good quality of the food.

Price wise, for 4 of us for 3 courses each plus soft drinks all round it worked out to less than £20 per head which was great.

To have all of this while looking out at a fantastic view of the sea and across to The Needles - who could ask for more!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Jeannette_A,

Thank you for your recent review.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed both your tea and cake and subsequent lunch and it is always nice to hear pleasant comments about our staff.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Steve Hayward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sadly, no service, no smile, no coffee!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stopped at our local beach cafe for a coffee at 2.15 one afternoon last week and although we have been going there for 25 years the new owners have now introduced a queueing system, which may help them seat people but which we find irritating and unnecessary and breaks the relaxed atmosphere which used to prevail. I am not a great observer of petty rules so we walked past the notice (there is now an equally annoying and unnecessary one way in one way out system, which I also ignore, as do many others!). With no difficulty we found an empty table for two on the remains of the outside terrace (two thirds of the original terrace is now regrettably covered) and sat down to order coffee. (There were other empty tables also available) so why this officious system was in place in early afternoon after any lunchtime rush, I didn't understand). The only group waiting were large and clearly a space for a big group is harder to accommodate, so we were not jumping the queue, as no other couples were waiting. A young lady clearly in charge of seating, fairly officiously ushered this group past us a couple of minutes later and had clearly taken umbrage, giving me an icy stare and proceeded to ignore us each time she passed by. I managed to finally catch a passing waitress and ordered two coffees. We sat and waited, people came and people went, no coffee. After fifteen minutes I decided this was long enough for something essentially simple. I managed to stop the waitress again in passing, and was told after she had gone off to enquire for another couple of minutes, our order was third in the queue to be done! Unsurprisingly we cancelled our order and left. It is a five minute walk home and we probably got our coffee quicker than sitting and waiting a further in determinant time.

It is disappointing that this cafe which at first made great strides and improvements, is now in my view at least, taking itself far too seriously. It now does evening events, charging around £34 for a meal if there is music, which given it is still a beach cafe, seems o.t.t. to me. The food is much more varied and definitely much better than it used to be and I have given it very good reviews in the past. However the speed of service has always been an issue and it clearly is not getting better. To be fair they are recovering from significant difficulties after the dreadful storm on Valentine's day, but this is not really any excuse. Once the kids are back at school after half term, maybe we will be able to get a cup of coffee in 5 minutes rather than probably 20+ if we had waited long enough. If it continues like this they will lose the regular custom which may not matter in the busy periods, but on a cold November day when it's windy and raining, might be quite welcome! Or maybe not!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank paxpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear paxpeace,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

Unfortunately with how busy we get we do and will continue to use our queuing system and being seated which is common in most restaurants. If you do not follow it we will not have seen you are a new customer and so you may not get served as quickly as if you had queued.

Regarding our evening events they have been very popular despite your concerns. Usually our cuisine themed nights have been around £20 per person and Valentine's was £30 per person and we were fully booked for two nights. I hope you will come down and try one as customers remark at how good value they are.

We hope to welcom you again soon.

Regards,

Steve Hayward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“In need of hot chocolates!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

2 very cold mummies, 2 dogs and 6 very wet little girls went for a fantastic hot chocolate and cappuccino. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating when we arrived in our very sorry and soggy state. We will certainly be returning for breakfast and lunch and more hot chocolate very soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Alexandra R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your recent review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your, by the sounds of it, much needed hot drinks on your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Steve Hayward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overseas Visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I took my two Australian friends to the Noisy Lobster last night and the food and wine were absolutely superb. It suited a vegetarian diner (mushroom and sweet potato risotto) and meat/fish eaters equally well. I had delicious salmon and my friend had the local lamb and she raved about it. All washed down with a lovely rioja ... an evening to remember. THANKS!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kafem1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear kafem1957,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent glowing review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening meal so much with us and we hope to welcome you here again soon.

Regards,

Steve Hayward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing