We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting - big improvements”

The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach
Ranked #2 of 149 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant at Avon Beach - now known as the Noisy Lobster - offers breakfast, lunch, light bites and dinner where patrons can enjoy one of the best views in the area.At the Avon Beach resort we also offer beach huts, an ice-cream parlour, seaside shop and takeaway cabin with a decking area to enjoy a great day at the beach.
South Coast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely setting - big improvements”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have used this restaurant on three occasions so far under the new management - and it maintains very high standards of food and very good customer service with friendly staff. The place has been transformed for the good.

The food is very good without breaking the bank - and we will continue to use it as the place with the best seaside location to take friends when they visit us.

But we also go there often for coffee and sometimes for breakfast - and class the breakfast as the second best in the area (the best is 400m to the east!!). It is a pity that they will not swap any breakfast items - which seems a bit petty and too rigid for a friendly place.


A new kitchen is being built - but they do need to reduce the decking outside so that it complies with the approved planning permission - as some locals are not feeling too disposed towards the owners because they are taking too long to comply with the approved plans.

Do try this place - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itchy-feet-on-sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Itchy-Feet-on-sea,

Thank you for your recent review. I'm very pleased to hear that you appreciate our changes and view that they are an improvement.

Regarding the no swapping, this is primarily because when we are busy it slows down the service if everyone is changing items. With the decking we are compling with planning permission, at the moment it doesn't look satisfactory due to the kitchen development works which we hope to finish by the end of the year. Then we can remove the storage sheds which are on the decking and provide further public seating to enjoy the view!

Regards,

Steve Hayward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    483
    155
    82
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

A great meal out without breaking the bank. The food was superb and the service was excellent. I shall be going again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C_F-Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear C_F-Taylor,

Thank you for your recent review and that both the food and service were of a high standard.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,

Steve Hayward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great value lobster & chips”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The venue has two halves, one side is a cafe and the other is a restaurant. It is situated by Avon Beach car park so easy to find. It is the first cafe you come across when walking into the beach from Mudeford Quay. we stopped for tea and a danish slice on Friday afternoon and liked the look of the menu so went back Sunday night for dinner as the thought of eating lobster that was caught just a short distance up the beach was very appealing. It didn't disappoint. The service was great, with the young gentlemen that were serving all being very polite, helpful and smiling without it being over the top. We had half a lobster with chips and salad and it was delicious. The lobster was beautiful and sweet (even with the garlic butter) and the chips were nice and crisp & crunchy. Even the salad was good with bits of asparagus chopped up in it. Great venue on the beach that in my experience, served me some simple food cooked really well at a good price (£13). Wish lived locally so I could go back soon and have a whole lobster next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Tracey E,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I think I was part of the team serving you that Sunday night and I'm very pleased you enjoyed your lobster. With our restaurant name we do try to make it our signature dish so this is particularly pleasing to hear.

We hope to welcome you back when you are next visiting the area.

Regards,

Steve Hayward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, great staff, great atmosphere!!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I’m in two minds whether the post this review I would like to keep this venue all to myself . Never visited before but we’ll make a point of going again next time we are down in the area.
From the first moment when the door was opened by a member of staff with a wonderful ‘Good morning’ greeting until we left the atmosphere was brilliant.
After being seated we were asked what we would like to drink before ordering our meal. With drink order passed, we continued to study the breakfast menus, catering for all, be it large appetite or small, vegetarian or non vegetarian all served with toast.
It was very busy but it didn’t long before we were tucking in to our large breakfasts.
Well done team fantastic service, fantastic venue and fantastic food. Oh! did I mention the fantastic staff?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear KrisJMercer,

Thank you for writing such a great review. We do give special praise to the staff when they are spoken about in such a positive manner on here or if it is mentioned at the time in the restaurant.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,

Steve Hayward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a great lunch!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The renovation really has worked well. Today a great brunch and outstanding service nearly distracted us from the unparalleled views of crowds of wind & kite surfers creating brilliantly coloured patterns across the heavy surf. Good menu, well prepared and served with care and a smile. Good value. Wonderfully memorable day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Karl K,

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed all the aspects of your meal. The wind surfers do sometimes make up for the bad weather for the view!

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Steve Hayward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing