We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missed the point” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach

The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach
Ranked #2 of 148 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant at Avon Beach - now known as the Noisy Lobster - offers breakfast, lunch, light bites and dinner where patrons can enjoy one of the best views in the area.At the Avon Beach resort we also offer beach huts, an ice-cream parlour, seaside shop and takeaway cabin with a decking area to enjoy a great day at the beach.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Missed the point”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went to this cafe yesterday with my 4 year old son where we ordered a pirate Pete burger. When it turned up the chips were in a metal basket and the burger was dressed with a beautiful open salad, the presentation was perfect for an adult. My son kept asking for his special pirate burger not mummy's dinner.
the quality of the food was wonderful, as the burger was quite clearly homemade and really delicious but please if you are selling it as a children's meal please present as such. The other thing which surprised me was how expensive it was at £5.50 and that didn't include an ice cream or drink.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rosemeister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi rosemeister1, we do our best to present all food as good as possible, adult and child. We are glad you enjoyed your food and would also like to point out all children's meals do include a drink in the price. If you would like to send us an email info@avon-beach.co.uk we would be happy to send you a copy of the children's menu to highlight this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    474
    152
    81
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Took advantage of the good weather last weekend for a trip to Mudeford.

We decided to stop for breakfast at the Avon Beach and were very glad we did.

For those who went there previously there has been an internal renovation and what a difference. Now in a light and airy light blue with beech furniture it is completely transformed.

Waitresses seat you at tables which are well organised, spaced out for comfort and all with a lovely view of the sea. There is outdoor seating as well if you are brave enough in our climate.

I had the Gale Force 8 breakfast which was a good size, really well presented, excellently cooked and tasted fantastic. The place was spotlessly clean and this combined with the excellent food, fantastic service, reasonable prices and lovely decor made this a stop we will definitely make again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hey enzuigiri, thanks for your review we are glad you enjoyed your visit. We are now open evenings and the weather is getting a bit more bearable for the outdoor seating. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better before!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The ABC was always good for a fry up! You lined up with your tray ordered, got your drink sat down and then it all appeared! Never had to wait long-I don't see what was wrong with it. Simple people simple tastes!

So I was shocked when suddenly once sat down a waitress arrived with a hand held system to take the orders! Everything just took longer as there was this extra step! 5mins for the drinks 15 on top for the food.

And the breakfast wasn't good-hard egg, cold toast no sauté potatoes! Bring back the surfers breakfast! Obviously the food is lying in the kitchen as the waitresses are literally running back an forth taking orders, getting drinks and forgotten cutlery.

It wasn't broke so I don't get it. Lost customer to the Beach hut cafe!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AhoySailor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi AhoySailor13, we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit, we will be the first to admit that when taking on a new project there are a few teething problems that need to be addressed. We can assure you that since your visit in December we have been working hard to provide the best possible service and it would be great if you would give us another visit to see if we are able to restore any faith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great to have a place open on the seafront in the evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We live locally and really enjoyed visiting the restaurant and being able to walk back after a drink. Ambience relaxed, service attentive but not overbearing. It was lovely to chat to friends and not have over loud background music.The food was excellent, beautifully cooked and presented and the portion size was just right.
Staff were all friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you Ann J for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We are locals and have visited the cafe both under old management and new. We enjoyed the visits before and had no complaints, but having the option of an evening meal here now takes things up a level. We've visited twice for dinner and im sure that's just the first of many trips. The food is absolutely delicious, I genuinely couldn't criticise anything about it. I've read mixed reviews about the service but have always found the staff courteous and attentive without being overbearing and there is obviously a huge effort behind the scenes to make everything top notch. The hard work isn't going unrecognised and I'm sure this is going to become a regular dinner spot for us, especially as we can walk and drink! Thank you

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BandB93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98StephenH, Owner at The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for recognising the hard work we are putting in. We are constantly striving to provide the best possible food and service we can and we hope to push Avon Beach to its full potential and keep this hidden gem a wonderful feature of Christchurch. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Noisy Lobster at Avon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing