We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cramped.”
Review of The Nelson Tavern

The Nelson Tavern
Ranked #39 of 149 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The newly refurbished Nelson Tavern is now serving a locally sourced menu, cooked fresh by our experienced gastro chef. Family and dog friendly, Cask Ales, Sunday Roasts, and a Friendly atmosphere.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
203 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“cramped.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Group of five friends had a set menu at £25 per head which is overpriced. Took a while to be served and then told we would have to have all dishes together, as it was late. We agreed to this, but it meant an extremely cramped table. If it was to late, the booking shouldn't have been taken. The food was very good and there was just enough for five although we had all had a few drinks. Looking back at some of the reviews I can see why the portion sizes may not be enough for two and it has put us off going again as a couple.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacquiBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    89
    42
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try Thai !”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have never tried Thai food before and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food offered - I didn't want the meal to finish! Excellent waiting staff as well. Fantastic meal - would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very small portions with a premium price tag”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We ate in the Thai restaurant at the back of the pub. The service was ok however the portions are tiny (for example 4 small ribs for nearly £7), prices are high and the "Thai" food has a very Chinese influence.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

visited this restaurant on Saturday evening as a treat from my daughter as she has just landed a new job and it was my birthday....there was 10 of us including my 3 year old granddaughter we were very disappointed that there are no concessions for children and this restaurant is definitely not child friendly ie no high chairs or booster seats and only adult sized portions of meals served..we all ordered starters at £5-£8 each and asked for a piece of bread for her and was given a £3.50 plate...we have visited the nelson a number of times but will definitely think twice about going back..
.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kitkat93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A little oasis of a pub garden”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch on a Saturday and grabbed a really good pint of summer ale, beer is very well kept! And my companion and I decided to have ploughmans and more beer for lunch. The food portions were good for the prices and the ham was home cooked and very tasty, loads of cheese with a selection of cheddar and blue Stilton, could have a bit more salad greens, but this is the only formative feedback I can give the food. The pub itself is a classic English country pub, the atmosphere is really comfortable and the landlord really is in control and comfortable to chat with. the staff were more than happy to service to a standard you often don't get in restaurants trying to be more than what they are. be prepared to park and walk as there is a small and with the popularity of the pub challenging car park size wise (move the tuk tuk!) it is a short walk from Mudeford quay and worth the exercise!
If I lived closer this would be my local, though we didn't try the restaurant?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodfoodknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nelson Tavern also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Nelson Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing