We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend a wet and cold January day”
Review of The Jetty

The Jetty
Ranked #1 of 157 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked our reservation on the web site which was really easy. We were welcomed and shown our seats in a friendly way by our waitress. We choose our meal from the Seasonal Menu which had a great choice and was very good value for money. The double cheese soufflé was delicious and the pheasant was cooked to perfection. The deserts were original and delicious. There is a good wine choice and all of very good quality.
A nearby table had 4 children and the restaurant catered well for them. The children meals looked delicious and their plates were empty in no time. It was refreshing to see a good restaurant cater so well for children. Although it is a very good restaurant at no time does it feel uncomfortable or unfriendly. I would go every day if I could, but then it wouldn't feel so special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ElunedBuckingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,399 - 1,403 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Dined on the New Years Day special set menu. Lovely imaginative food served very well and with friendly style.
Very warm welcome on arrival (have been before), superb service. Lovely wines less expensive than similar at a restaurant in the same area!
Great experience thanks to the ambiance and the superb waiting staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bevambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked a meal on Sat 28 at the Jetty. They were raving about the 40 day aged steak and how big it was. The menu said it was big enough to share. When it arrived, I was very disappointed. It was mostly fat and bone and had no flavour at all. Probably the worst steak I have ever had. I informed the waiter, and he said we should eat the fat, as it was delicious. The meal was nearly £200 for four of us. I would never go there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

It deeply saddens all who work so hard at the jetty to read this.

So the beef you had was hand raised by the chef himself - shorthorn beef.

The cut of meat you had was Sirloin on the bone which was beautifully marbled.

On our menu we had ribeye, fillet and sirloin on the bone which could be shared or did say for one hungry person!

The fat and the bone is a selling point for a lot of people with this style of meat, if you prefer cleaner meat then the fillet is the obvious choice.

As for being told to eat the fat the staff bounce off the chefs enthusiasm and the fat on this cut of beef is like butter but with a wonderful beef flavour so it was more a recommendation as its such an integral part of this dish.

It is a great shame that through a lack of understanding of what you ordered we have been given such a poor rating when so many other people loved the same dish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Booked a lunch for my husbands Christmas present, we loved this place, the food is lovely, the atmosphere at lunchtime is really laid back. We had the 3 course set menu and the halibut was amazing. i always think that it is great when you see the chef that is named behind a restaurant actually there, we saw Alex and he talked to a few od the diners which was great. We would definitely go to the place again. Well worth a visit and highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bluewaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We chose The Jetty for our office's Xmas lunch as, being a local business, we wanted somewhere nearby, yet special.

We visited Monday 23rd December when the weather forecasters advised people not to go out unless you had to! Personally the views we had that day, sitting at a window table, were better than on a calm. Summer's day. The storm raging in the sea outside was beautiful to watch.

The food was divine, the service impeccable and we even got to chat with Alex Aitken, if only to admire the stormy sea. The restaurant was pleasantly busy and the ambience was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnnieO60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jetty also viewed

 
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Jetty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing