We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very warm welcome and well executed food”
Review of The Jetty

The Jetty
Ranked #1 of 149 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“a very warm welcome and well executed food”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

we were greeted warmly and were sat a lovely table,there was a choice of 3 menus ...wow.
we had a fab amuse bouche of cauliflower cheese with truffle oil.the cheese soufflé was superb as were the moules.mains were as good the pork loin lovely and pink on a risotto of cauliflower.the partridge was good and the cheese mash my son said was superb.the staff were very attentive,professional but relaxed too.we couldn't manage dessert but we were given a selection of petit fours,beautiful fudge,meringues,turkish delight and choc truffles.the food was all fresh, flavoursome and local .we will definitely be back if we are in the area.thank you staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,366
    320
    119
    65
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent and welcoming to children”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

A great restaurant. Always very welcoming particularly to our children. Food fresh and of a very high standard. Views magnificent. We will be returning soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Brilliant by any standards, even London”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I took my husband last night for his birthday meal. They were really attentive to my prior request for well located table and fillet steak (not on the menu but he just really wanted one!) remembering my needs exactly. Service throughout professional - although if I am nit-picking it could have been a little warmer. Great view out over the harbour even at night. Starter of weymouth scallops with risotto nero (squid ink) and crispy squid was to die for and I am not even a fan of rice. The scallops were the best I had tasted for years - real flavour. The menu also said it had crispy squid but they were tiny bits only. My husband had oysters and he said they were equally superb. For mains I had the cassoulet - brilliant. The large chunk of sea bream actually tasted like it had been in the sea recently - fresh and full of taste. The other seafood in it was good too and the chorizo gave the broth a real depth of flavour. The chicken and crayfish dish was the only disappointment " 12 hour seasoned in brine then roast, served with fresh water crayfish in a rich crayfish sauce" - there was no real crayfish in evidence - just the flavour in the sauce.. Even the bread was great - and no cover charge which another local highly rated restaurant outrageously charges. The final bill for 2 with 2 large glasses and one small glass of wine was £90 including service - a real bargain for this high standard of food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merionvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“continuing excellence”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We have been to The Jetty many times. On each occasion, the food has been fantastic and the service friendly and efficient. Plus one of the best views in the world.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Birthday celebration meal”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Visited on my birthday in November we arrived at 1.30 pm we were booked in for 1.00 pm Staff were suberb put us on an amazing table by window with great views. Meal was wonderful we had five mini gastro menu. Nice touch chef did a chocolate happy birthday on desert plate made of chocolate ganache.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jetty also viewed

 

Been to The Jetty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing