We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable”
Review of The Jetty

The Jetty
Ranked #1 of 157 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Saturday lunch for two. Other half's birthday. Chose the three course set menu. Food and service excellent. Delightful restaurant with stunning views across Christchurch Harbour to Mudeford and Hengistbury Head. Live less than half an hour away and wish we had been there before. Will certainly return in the near future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Montythecat461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review the whole team has enjoyed reading just how much you enjoyed your experience with us.

We all look forward to your return so we can spoil you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,506 - 1,510 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Went with my wife who had previously visited for her birthday . We were met with excellent service, beautiful food and wonderful atmosphere.
The food we had was out of this world and I would recommend it to anyone who fancies a visit! I find it incredulity that there are people out there that have rated this one star!! All I can think of is they own nearby restaurants!
We are from Southampton and will be back very soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ALD70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you very much for the great review, its great to see how much you enjoyed the total experience with us.

Its funny you say about the 1 star ratings we have received, its a strange world out there and everyone is different!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Took my brother to The Jetty for lunch for his birthday, we had the tasting menu plus he had wines. Each course was excellent, from the twice baked soufflé to the poached pears and blue cheese. We spent the best part of 2 hours devouring the food and look at the spectacular view. Service excellent as usual, will definitely be back sooner rather than later, I hope.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kirx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review, we are so pleased we could make your special day as it should be. The tasting menu is incredibly popular and we always enjoy giving people the best we have to give!

We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The food was excellent as we expected from this well regarded chef. The restaurant is attractive and the location superb. However during a lunch when the restaurant was about half full the noise was overwhelming and we had trouble making ourselves heard. All the surfaces are hard and the sound just bounces off everything. It got better when diners started to leave so maybe the tables are too close together. Despite the good food and excellent value set lunch all four of us were quite put off by having to shout at each other.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GEW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review and we are so pleased you enjoyed the food.

We are a very busy restaurant and certainly the acoustics can be noisy when we are in full swing. Although we love the atmosphere we are definitely looking at how we can soften the restaurant slightly and are looking at a potential refurb come January - so watch this space!!!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Heard lots of good things about this place so took my partners son to celebrate his first at university.

Food was excellent . Mussels and sea bream and souffle and hake all perfectly booked. Attentive service in a laid back manor .

Well done the jetty. Awards are well deserved. Can't wait till next event to celebrate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jerseytony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MudefordManager, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion on TA .

We appreciate all the negative comments as well as positive and as ever we will use your comments to share with the team to analyze.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in the future (not too far away, we hope! )

best regards

AJ Aitken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jetty also viewed

 

Been to The Jetty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing