We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Jetty

The Jetty
Ranked #1 of 149 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
bournemouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Wow, wow and more wow, the staff are attentive but not intrusive, the food is fresh, out of this world and the chef caters for all requirements.

We love it here and it is our special treat place as usually linked with a stay at The Christchurch harbour hotel.

I would highly recommend a meal here

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annetteBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review we are all delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the jetty and its acted as a great motivator for all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,329
    312
    110
    59
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Service a little "hard"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location is great, right by the waters edge and at night the sea is lit up so that you can see the waves coming in.

Our greeting was professional and we were seated quickly ,drinks were ordered and brought quickly. They have an extensive range of pre dinner "nibbles", starters and mains as you would expect very seafood orientated.

The food was very fresh and you must try their version of a scotch egg - made with salt cod, very good.

The wine was reasonably priced and a sensible sized list, there was some uneccesary topping up of glasses though when they wern't anyway near empty.

I think my main concern is that the service in the Upper Deck restaurant (part of the Christchurch Harbour Hotel) is much better as it was softer.

It is really hard to explain, the service was good but it was a little brusque and whilst not unfriendly it does remind me of restaurants who have a Michelin star and that have lost the "fun" element of service and whilst it was good it wasn't as good as it could be. I have to say this was my thoughts about all of the staff and front of house except for one you lad who served us one of our courses.

It may well be that this is just my take on the service - you may find it to your liking.

I would happliy go back again - just for the views.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donkey3653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, i am sorry we did not quite get it right at the jetty for you but its great to see you enjoyed the upper deck and its great that the 2 buildings can work together in this way.

Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A class above”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went for the fantastic value lunch today - 6 of us.
Sadly, one of our party was unwell........before she ate anything !.....and had to leave,with her partner, after the first course was served.

Up they ALL stepped......manager and waiting staff were the epitome of discretion, concern and efficiency. Meals were cancelled, the table cleared down to four places and the service just smoothly ran on with main courses soon following.

The food? Excellent...balanced,ideal for lunch and full of flavour and good cooking.

The wine list is reasonably priced for the quality of wines offered.

No charge was levied for cancelling courses or the served first courses - much appreciated

All in all, the impact of an unfortunate situation was mitigated with some style for the remaining guests who had a very good lunch.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review its so rewarding to see how much you enjoyed your experience with us the whole team is very happy to read your comments thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding......Again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This wasn't the first time we'd been to the Jetty, and it won't be the last.
Great room, superb view, excellent food, quality staff.
It's not cheap, but it is worth every penny.
This is Michelin material.
If you want to impress, go here. It's a no brainer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobandbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review, its so rewarding to see how much you enjoyed it and that we have got the consistency right. Its so important in the industry and its a huge motivator for the whole team to read this.

Till the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lunch with the cousins.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

A seat for 4 by the window, served by Polish waiter who was attentive and smart. A clean crisp look, with natural light gleaming through the windows. Excllent choice of dishes, and although mainly a seafood restaurant many other choices are avaliable. Join Ladies who Lunch website and get 4 glasses of wine for free, as long as you order food. Don`t book the table near the washroom. Too close, even though washrooms are great. Outside lovely if sunny and warm. they have a new bar that looks inviting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank oceanspray726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us on TA. It is great to see how much you enjoyed your experience with us and i have enjoyed sharing it with the whole team. We very much look forward to your return!

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jetty also viewed

 

Been to The Jetty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing