We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a great place to eat in this part of the world”
Review of The Jetty

The Jetty
Ranked #1 of 149 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Caddington
Level Contributor
485 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Definitely a great place to eat in this part of the world”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Alex Aitkins has now fine tuned this great restaurant and is more than taking advantage of the local seafood and other produce throughout his excellent menus. Whilst slightly on the noisy side later on in the evening when the place fills up, the service more than makes up for this slight inconvenience. The Isle of Wight Lobster was perfectly cooked as a starter and the local Sea Bass was cooked to perfection, as were the greens and the White Riocha from the well priced wine list was a perfect accompaniment. Well done Alex- keep it up.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review, its great to see that you have appreciated how we Alex has reformed the restaurant and its even better to see its working!

Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,366
    321
    119
    65
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Just excellent!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great meal , so much choice , great value set menus , can mix and
Match between menus. . Fantastic service too. Really enjoyed our lunch , were here for 2.5 hours and really not rushed. Loved it and will be back

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for the great review,is great to see you had the chance to mix and match through the menus and have such a great leisurely lunch (the way it shoudl be!)

Thanks again and look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Jetty Excellent!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

An excellent dining experience last night at the Jetty Restaurant in Mudeford.

We had the Ad Hoc menu, which was pork themed.

The appetizers consisted of locally sourced oysters, potted shrimp and pork crackling with apple sauce, with home baked bread.....delicious!!!

Starter, a large spicy prawn with ginger sauce.....srumptious!!!

Main Course, a pork chop superbly cooked and so very tender with creamy mash and green veges, all perfectly prepared, cooked and artisticly decorated on our plate. Pork again locally sourced from Alex's (the chef) Wife's farm.

Service, absolutely faultless!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. This was our first ad-hoc for a long time and was so well recieved.

Please watch out for more ad-hocs!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful tasting menu”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have had lunch at The Jetty on many occasions. The food has always been excellent. so we decided to go for dinner and try the tasting menu. it was wonderful, each course being excellent example of Alex Aitken's cooking, superb ingredients, very well presented. Every course was accompained with a well chosen wine.Despite the fact that some of the staff were attending another event, the service was excellent. would thoroughly recommend the tasting menu for a special ocassion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for another great review! Its great to see people enjoying themselves time again with us, consistency is key in this industry.

We are fortunate at the jetty to have held the same staff for 2 years now a rarity in this industry but it gives our guests great continuity in service.

Thanks again and we very much look forward to the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had a good meal here one of the nights we stayed at the hotel. The food as expected for the price was up to a excellent standard as was the service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank peterc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for joinging us at the jetty and taking the time to write about us on TA. Its great to see you thought we were worth the money you spent we pride ourselves on sourcing the best local ingredients which does come at a price!

We do however do lots of great value experiences: lunch times 3 courses for £21.95 and watch out for 'alex ad-hoc' 4 courses £25!!!!

We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jetty also viewed

 

Been to The Jetty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing