We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal!”
Review of The Jetty

The Jetty
Ranked #1 of 149 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Pagham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely meal!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had eaten here before and had a lovely experience with a couple of friends back in September, when we had a special tasting menu with wine included.
After raving about The Jetty to a friend we booked to stay in the hotel that the restaurant is attached to as we don't live that close by.
We chose the tasting menu and were both very impressed with the quality and variety of the food which was faultless. The only flaw at the end of the evening was that after we paid the bill and got up to leave the table no-one offered to get our coats for us or say goodbye, it felt as if we had paid our money and that was the end of the staffs responsibility!
Having said that I would be very happy to come back!,

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diddlydos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review and joining us at the jetty. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us, i am however very sorry that you were neglected at the end. Thank you for making this point as everyone is very frustrated with themselves for letting this go unnoticed.

We hope to welcome you back and deliver a 5 star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,366
    320
    119
    65
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food but overpriced”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Heard a lot about the jetty, so had to go, did leave hungry as very small portions & very expensive, lovely venue though

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for joining us at the jetty, its a great shame you found our portion sizes small and that we are over priced. We do offer a 3 course menu for £21.95 which is superb value and i feel the portions are very generous.

We hope we can welcome you back to us at some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience this year !”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I only recently joined trip advisor and decided to share my experiences .........


My girlfriend booked a table at the jetty to celebrate my birthday on a Saturday night back in July.


When we arrived I realised we would be in for a bumpy evening.


I actually suggested we go elsewhere but my girlfriend thought we should give them a chance.


Simply put this place was chaos - total chaos.


We waited nearly an hour for our table - they were overbooked and greedy !

The service was at its best disgusting - the restaurant manager probably the most big headed and arrogant person I have met in catering and the food served warm and disappointing.


At the end of the evening I was introduced to the owners son who sat with us and after hearing the experience - said he was going to do something he had never done before - and ripped up the bill.


I think that was not he first and unless they learn that ripping customers off with such poor service is not acceptable - it won't be the last !


My advice would be to avoid this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
This review is a great shame, we got it wrong held are hands up and did not even charge the person so im not sure why the need is to write such a bad review. If we were greedy as mentioned he would have been charged!

This has never happened before - and it wasnt chaos for any reason than people came too early for the bookings himself being one of them! So yes he may have waited an hour but he arrived an hour early! He was booked at 9:30pm and it seemed everyone at this time came at 8:30pm we take 2 tables every 15 minutes so with everyone coming early we had 10 tables arriving at the same time!

All that being said he was not greeted the way we usually do and the experience was not what we practice so i did not charge them - however i did not "rip the bill up" as he crassly puts.

Infact i find the whole review very crass - he didnt seem to like our restaurant manager Charlie when i sat down with him he even attacked the way he dressed, commenting on his designer belt!!!! Im not sure why one would even pay attention to this when you are out with your girlfirend!

Its really upsetting for the whole team to read this, they all try so hard and they are much better than this review suggests.

The chap even told me how he really wanted to like the place left giving me his card etc and booked a table for the next week for a business lunch saying he was really grateful we talked etc. Then what happened he cancelled last minute then we dont hear from him again till almost 3 months later when he writes a scathing review on trip advisor...........

Very upsetting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Dinner - 25/10/2012”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had dinner at The Jetty last evening - White bean veloute followed by risotto with locally sourced mushrooms, truffle and jus served in a kilner jar - superb . Partridge with delicious bread sauce, on a bed of cabbage - faultless presentation - superb also, and a very tasty pud for finale, served with delicious French wines - £65 per head! FABULOUS!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judes111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for joining us at the jetty and writing such a fantastic review on us. Its great to see you enjoying the new seasonal dishes - especially one of Alex's signature dishes the mushroom risotto served ithe kilner jar.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

First time at the Jetty today and will definitely be back. The twice baked soufflé was incredible! Lovely service from staff just the right balance of attentive without being intrusive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJAitken, General Manager at The Jetty, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you so much for joing us at the jetty for the first time! We have a great regular client base, but its great to see that people coming for the first are enjoying it just as much. It is so important to us that we open the doors to everyone at the jetty and everyone is made to feel special.

Look forward to the next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jetty also viewed

 

Been to The Jetty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing