We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average”

The Manor Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 149 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Although the owners claim this to be one of the best carveries around they really should take a more realistic view. The service was very poor, the food mediocre at best, the selection of vegetables was not what i expected to find on a sunday carvery ie boiled courgettes, sloppy swede and carrot mash, frozen mixed baby sweet corn, peas and beans and anaemic parsnips. However, the crackling on the pork and the cauliflower cheese were very good. After watching our drinks standing on the bar for 10 minutes a member of our party decided to go and fetch them himself rather than wait any longer for the waitress who seemed to ignore the fact we were still waiting for the drinks orderd at the table.

Our first visit to this restaurant was a disaster but three years on we thought we might give it another go. Needless to say there wont be a third visit!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BraddersBureLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    39
    22
    21
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had (yet another) deal for 2 courses and wine - I often think that the meals we get on these offers are OK but I wouldn't like to be paying full price, this was an exception. We had Scallops, Gravadlax, Trout and a Burger and acceptable house wine ... all excellent, good cooking and presentation and friendly polite service. Nice interiors and dogs are allowed in the bar area where they have a couple of real ales.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rogertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Untrained staff,bits missing of the pizza no one cared no one done anything about it !!!! Long wait ,restaurant quiet no opologyy !!!! No satisfaction check, no offer of refilling drinks , had to find waitress to ask for desert menu she was to busy chatting to fellow workers !!! No one bothered with us,no one cared !!! Pizzas were deliscous just the service let them down.They must think that you do not have to give good service because customers will come back whatever , well I'm sorry to say that's not true and we will not be back and that's a shame because if it had been right us girls go out regularly and would have gone back. We all work in a restaurant and run it so we were very disappointed and would be horrified if we gave that sort of service !!! We wouldn't exspect to stay open for very long if we behaved like that !!!!!

    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffanyRingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bere Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Ownership.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My recent visit made me leave after the way that the owners spoke to one of their staff. Not only was he rude to the young lady he was verbally abusive. My mother was shocked at the language that she heard him use to such a young person. She leant towards me and said if that had been my daughter/partner that she would have punched him in the nose...!!
It's a shame really as the staff try really hard to make your visit nice just to be spoilt by the lack of service because there isn't enough of them, and its always cold in the building. Also there is a terrible smell that always seeps into the lounge area by the bar......!!
After the money that had been spent on the building it now needs a good clean, even the wall outside the kitchen needs cleaning as the kitchen fans just seem to leave fat on the outside wall.
We will not be visiting again....!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SParsons1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Had a great meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We needed a last minute overnight stay in the area and ended up at The Manor. We decided to eat in the restaurant and were booked a table with no fuss. As it was still reasonably early, we had a chilled out hour in a couple of armchairs with two large glasses of Rioja before going through to eat.
The food was excellent. Good portions. Steak and frites were perfect for me while my husband ordered sirloin that was cooked beautifully. Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable evening with good service and lovely food. The restaurant was full and clearly busy but the staff were all efficient and very polite.
We will be returning and are happy to recommend this as both a place to stay and to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vinrouge63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Manor Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Sopley, Hampshire
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Manor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing