We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting evenings with great food.”

The Kings Arms Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 159 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Alex Aitken from Le Poussin, Limewood and The Jetty, is now in charge of the food and menus at The Kings Restaurant.The Restaurant serves the very best local and seasonal food – with sophisticated simplicity and a unique and charming English setting, overlooking the Kings Arms Bowling Green and historical castle ruins.The Kings Restaurant is honoured to introduce the new 'Josper Grill', a technique that imparts a distinctive charcoal flavour to all the local and handpicked ingredients placed upon its coals. The delicious menu makes use of the very best local ingredients either caught, grown or prepared close to Christchurch from the New Forest and the waters of the South Coast.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We have attended some of the Supper Clubs and have really enjoyed them. When eating at other times, we have learnt to read the menu carefully as the dish is not always quite what you might expect, but always delicious!

Thank BrentorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroCWatson, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for your great review regarding our famous Supper Club. Our next Supperclub date is on Febuary 27 and we look forward in seeing you then.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 551 of 705 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Most recently I frequented for my works Christmas party which was held in the side building. I was dubious reading that the food was buffet form, but in fact it was the best food we have had at a Christmas party in ages! The buffet aspect was in fact plenty of the beautiful yummy food being placed on each table so you could help yourself. The only complaint about the food was the Brussel sprouts were like little bullets! Otherwise it was all brilliant!

From other visits, I have always had a pleasant experience. Food being lovely and reasonable prices. I would definitely recommend the venue to others.

Thank willowaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you kindly for your positive review of our restaurant, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time and we have passed on the feedback to the kitchen, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Dropped in here with my wife a few weeks after eating at the Jetty, to see if the same quality ethic extended here. I'm glad to say, it does. The £10 lunch menu of 2 courses & glass of wine is extraordinarily good value. The dishes are simple, french bistro style, but tasty. Service when we visited was excellent, with genuinely helpful staff.
Very very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we are pleased to see such a high review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have just had a wonderful dinner in the Kings restaurant. The staff who served and greeted us was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menus. We decided to choose from the A la carte menu and we have not disappointed. I had the sea bream which was delicious and my partner went for the game casserole which was full of flavour, great winter dish. We shared one cheesecake which was just perfect to finish our dinner. Lovely meal in a perfect setting...we will come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 79Constantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz-Dwornik, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I have passed on your feedback to the staff in the restaurant and the kitchen staff to praise the high reviews for food. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked our Christmas party at the kings arms for Saturday night.All the food was pre-ordered so we expected to be seated at our table on time and the food to be served very soon after that. Sadly this was far from the case.We sat down about 15mins late which we accepted that it was a busy Sat night but it was another hour before any food came out. We actually got our food at 9:40.Way too late to eat it really did spoil our Christmas party. We had booked a room for the night because we expected a really fun evening but it was a damp squib!!! Sadly the breakfast service in the morning wasn't any better one our friends waited 45mins for their breakfast and guests have to make their own toast, not what you expect from a hotel. Never again !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trevone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms Restaurant also viewed

 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Kings Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing